Serrapeptase: Reviews, Dosages, and Side Effects

| Modified: Sep 07, 2018
Serrapeptase, a nutritional supplement, is an enzyme derived from silkworms.  This enzyme breaks down non-living tissue, making it useful for a wide variety of conditions.  It is commonly recommended to remove plaque from arteries, dissolve scar tissue, decrease inflammation, dissolve blood clots, help varicose veins and heal cysts. Others have used it for lung disease, asthma and sinus problems, including polyps. It is also suggested for blocked fallopian tubes and varicose veins.

Serrapeptase Dosages

Serrapeptase can be bought in health food stores and online.  It is recommended to take one or two capsules one to three times a day on an empty stomach, with a glass of water.  Amounts in one capsule vary from manufacturer to manufacturer.  Some have as little as 40,000 Serratiopeptidase units per capsule. Others have as much as 120,000! When beginning a new supplement it is always best to start with the lowest dose and increase slowly to avoid side effects or detox reactions.

Serrapeptase Warnings

Reported side effects of serrapeptase include an increase in pain or worsening of symptoms. Side effects do seem to be rare for this supplement.
There are some people who should not use serrapeptase. For example, if you have had surgery for a hernia repair, the long term repair is dependent upon the scar tissue produced and attached to the mesh. Serrapeptase dissolves scar tissue, and this would be counterproductive for a hernia repair patient. Some cosmetic surgeries and procedures may also be compromised by serrapeptase use, including fat injections and face lifts. If a surgical procedure is supported by any non-living tissue, serrapeptase should not be used.

Serrapeptase Reviews

Earth Clinic readers have reported wonderful results when using serrapeptase as a natural remedy.

Trish from England reports: "I have suffered most of my life with sinus problems have had an operation were they drilled the bone at top of my nose had some relief for a short time but I was told to try serrapeptase and the relief has been brilliant I take 2 80,000 tablets morning and night and they have been excellent."

Amy from Michigan also had excellent results also.  She says, "Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally is amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me."

Please scroll down to see what Earth Clinic readers have experienced when using serrapeptase.

If you use serrapeptase, be sure to share your story with us!


About the Author: Deirdre Layne

Founder and CEO of Earth Clinic, has an extensive background in health and healing. She created EarthClinic.com in 1999 as a way to teach people about natural remedies and alternative healing therapies. Since then, thousands of people around the world and their pets have been healed by the remedies found on Earth Clinic. Deirdre holds a BA from Mount Holyoke College in Philosophy and is the author of the book Apple Cider Vinegar: A Modern Folk Remedy.


Blocked Arteries  

1 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Mike (Mudgee) on 09/04/2018
1 out of 5 stars

Used high doses of serrapeptase for almost 2 years to try and clear blocked carotid arteries, combining this with careful diet and exercise but with no apparent effect as checked with ultra sound.

Replied by Vlad
New York
09/04/2018

Absolutely useless, I would not give it even one star. I thought I am protected with 120000 units, together with double dose of nattokinase, 200 mg), twice a day ( quite aggressive dosages) from clots, etc. My walking distance due to intermittent claudication would not improve, if not getting worse, which suggests that my PAD is progressing. After realizing that my headaches are caused with narrowing blood vessels I started again baby aspirin (which I previously thought I didn't need thanks to the above supplements) and my headaches miraculously stopped. I appreciate that serrap. helped rats, but it helped me like a poultice to dead body. I also tried citrus pectin, which was short of miraculous for swains' arteries (that research was also funded by NIH), but where are those swains, who saw them?

To be fair, not only these oral enzymes and pectin are useless; same results, if not worse, I got from NIH TACT study of IV EDTA, in which I participated in 2005, after which my 90% open artery successfully closed.

Eventually (for leg arteries) I had to turn for revascularization (no matter how much I wanted to avoid it), and now, three years later, my surgeon is quietly waiting for my return, because he knows damn well that despite all this hoopla about miracle supplements I will come back by the simple reason - I still cannot walk, nor I can spend all my life to develop sufficient collateral circulation.

I also hoped to get rid from sinus infection at the same time, so I stopped washing my nose with antibiotic solution. Regardless of that, and twice a day wash with saline solution after several months of getting nowhere, I realized that I again should start Wilson wash.

So it is not all gold which shines. Keep your hope, but at the same time keep looking for more established remedy.


Cataracts  

Posted by Karen (Ma) on 09/04/2018

I listen to a holistic radio show hosted by naturopaths in Massachusetts and they recommend taking serrapeptase supplements if you are in the beginning stage of cataracts. They also said you can take it to prevent cataracts.


Cysts  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Cheryl (Rochester, Ny) on 09/04/2018
5 out of 5 stars

Serrapatese. I started taking about 7 months ago to help clear arteries. Interestingly I had a golf ball size cyst or lump just above my hip bone about the same time. I decided to try my own thing which involved rubbing it with castor oil every night and morning limiting my progress to a 5 week check if no progress I would go to the doctors.

To my amazement cyst was half the size. Nose polyps are gone too. In July I kept forgetting to take it and the cyst laid stagnant. I tried to remember what I was doing and realized it was the serrapatese. 1 month later almost gone. Funny thing with home remedies is that sometimes one doesn't know that they are working until you stop taking it. Lobellia and Muellein for respiratory same story. Stopped my drops woke up congested..hadnt't done my muellein and lobelia routine. Hope this helps.


Ear Fluid  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Lyn (Heber) on 09/06/2018
5 out of 5 stars

My doctor recommended serrapeptase for drying the fluid in our ears. It worked!


Endometriosis  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Sue (Ks ) on 09/05/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have only used serrapeptase for two cycles of 4 months each but have found really good results for my endometriosis. I found that it dissolved the cysts or clotting that was or had occurred. My first menstrual cycle was painful as the cysts were actually leaving my body, however every cycle after that was less and less painful until there was no pain. My cycle was also shorter. The first week I initially felt flu like symptoms which I was told to expect -dull headache, just slightly unwell feeling- I pushed through. Glad I did. I took one tablet x two times a day. I started on the 40,000. I am about to try the higher dose soon. I believe it did work well. I would recommend it to women suffering from endometriosis for sure. I will update my review after a few months on the higher dose. Make sure you take it away from any protein foods on an empty stomach.


Hemorrhoids  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Trudyg on 05/30/2013
5 out of 5 stars

For hemorrhoids - you can take serrapeptase --an enzyme that digests tissue such as scars, hemi's, etc. I take one first thing in the morning, no hemi's since then. Also, no knee pain from old injury.


High Cholesterol  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Wieas (London, Uk) on 01/20/2016
5 out of 5 stars

I started taking Serrapeptase 80,000IU enteric coated approx 5 months ago after my doctor did a blood test and said I had high cholesterol.

After 3 months I returned to the doctor for another blood test. When the results came back the doctor stated how pleased she was that the result had improved a lot and asked me what I had been doing. I told her I'd been out walking and exercising a lot. I hadn't. I certainly didn't mention the Serrapeptase because I knew that I would be met with the condescending smirk she normally gives me when I mention natural remedies. She told me to keep up the good work and carry on doing what I'm doing!

The instructions on the package state 'take 1 to 2 tabets daily'. Sometimes I exceed this dosage over the course of a day, taking 6 to 10 tablets daily. Is this dangerous? Any research I've done on the internet seems to suggest there are no side effects but I was just wondering if anybody more knowledgeable than me is able to confirm that?

The reason I'm asking is that for the last 4 days I have had 3 or 4 very sharp pains each day around the heart area. These pains only last a couple of seconds, one pain after the other and then disappear. I was wondering if this might be related to the Serrapeptase or whether the sharp pains are something else?

Thanks.

Replied by Jim
Lake Elsinore, California
03/29/2016

Hello, you might wish to Google Smart meters and electromagnetic interference, dirty electricity and faraday cages. All the utility companies removed old style meters and replaced water, gas and electric with smart meters. I needed to call and have the meters replaced with old meters because I was having chest pain, fluttering heart.The wi fi, cell phone also causes these issues.I had 3 different Heart tests at the hospital and my heart was just fine. After eliminating these microwave devices all heart symptoms went away.

Serrapeptase has given me no heart symptoms @ 240000 iu twice a day.

Replied by L
Ny
07/23/2017

I read on pub med site that said it caused eosinophils in a few patients. More is not better.

Replied by Phaze
California
05/08/2018

I and many others also cannot bear 'smart'meters, with similar symptoms as described by Jim. People are homeless (or have died) because of these #@! -meters. (Watch out for celltowers coming to every block to enable the Internet of Things -- similar effects.) When first installed and I was suffering greatly, a friend covered the s-meter (electric, next door facing me) with 2 layers of heavy foil to help me out (was resorting to living in car) I was not seeing/watching what he did but felt sudden amazing relief. The effects are real, folks, even if you are not one of the 'sensitive' ones. If you can, opt-out of these and get your neighbors to do it too.


Knee Pain  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Matt (Cambridge) on 09/04/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I agree serrapeptase is amazing. I have stiff and painful knees from decades old meniscus tears in both knees. I started taking serrapeptase two months ago. One capsule (120,00 SPU) once a day on an empty stomach. Within a few days my knee pain disappeared. Whereas a couple of months ago I couldn't get up from a movie theatre or airplane seat without limping down the aisle from stiffness, I now had zero pain. I couldn't sit kneel and pull weeds from the garden. This summer I could. I ran out of capsules and didn't replenish my supply about two weeks ago and the knee pain and stiffness returned after about 10 days. So I will resume taking this supplement asap.


Mucus  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Caski (Herts, UK) on 09/05/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have used Serrapeptase to reduce mucus. It definitely has an effect, noticeable if I stop taking it or forget to take in on holiday with me. It does clear the mucus from my lungs and I feel less chesty. Useful for COPD patients.

Cutting out dairy also helps too.

PS I take Natures Best 250mg​


Pain  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Amy (Metro Detroit , Michigan) on 02/25/2013
5 out of 5 stars

Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally was amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me. Also take B complex and turmeric daily, message with magnesium oil or take Epsom salt baths or foot soaks. Plus add a cushion to your shoes. This really works!


Scars  

Posted by Maria (Gippsland, Australia) on 12/01/2011

I have seen great results with serrapeptase on abdominal surgery scars (30 yr old).


Sinus Headache  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Anon (US) on 12/05/2014
5 out of 5 stars

Serrapeptase has taken away my sinus headaches. Each day I wake up so grateful and amazed to be headache free.

I hope other Earthclinic Readers find success with Serrapeptase too.


Sinus Infections  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Trisha (Liverpool, England) on 05/30/2013
5 out of 5 stars

Hi I have suffered most of my life with sinus problems have had an operation were they drilled the bone at top of my nose had some releif for a short time but I was told to try serrapeptase and the relief has been brilliant I take 2 80,000 tablets morning and night and they have been excellent.