Serrapeptase: Reviews, Dosages, and Side Effects

Mar 29, 2016

Serrapeptase, a nutritional supplement, is an enzyme derived from silkworms.  This enzyme breaks down non-living tissue, making it useful for a wide variety of conditions.  It is commonly recommended to remove plaque from arteries, dissolve scar tissue, decrease inflammation, dissolve blood clots, help varicose veins and heal cysts. Others have used it for lung disease, asthma and sinus problems, including polyps. It is also suggested for blocked fallopian tubes and varicose veins.

Serrapeptase Dosages

Serrapeptase can be bought in health food stores and online.  It is recommended to take one or two capsules one to three times a day on an empty stomach, with a glass of water.  Amounts in one capsule vary from manufacturer to manufacturer.  Some have as little as 40,000 Serratiopeptidase units per capsule. Others have as much as 120,000! When beginning a new supplement it is always best to start with the lowest dose and increase slowly to avoid side effects or detox reactions.

Serrapeptase Warnings

Reported side effects of serrapeptase include an increase in pain or worsening of symptoms. Side effects do seem to be rare for this supplement.
There are some people who should not use serrapeptase. For example, if you have had surgery for a hernia repair, the long term repair is dependent upon the scar tissue produced and attached to the mesh. Serrapeptase dissolves scar tissue, and this would be counterproductive for a hernia repair patient. Some cosmetic surgeries and procedures may also be compromised by serrapeptase use, including fat injections and face lifts. If a surgical procedure is supported by any non-living tissue, serrapeptase should not be used.

Serrapeptase Reviews

Earth Clinic readers have reported wonderful results when using serrapeptase as a natural remedy.

Trish from England reports: "I have suffered most of my life with sinus problems have had an operation were they drilled the bone at top of my nose had some relief for a short time but I was told to try serrapeptase and the relief has been brilliant I take 2 80,000 tablets morning and night and they have been excellent."

Amy from Michigan also had excellent results also.  She says, "Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally is amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me."

Please scroll down to see what Earth Clinic readers have experienced when using serrapeptase.

If you use serrapeptase, be sure to share your story with us!



Hemorrhoids  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Trudyg on 05/30/2013
5 out of 5 stars

For hemorrhoids - you can take serrapeptase --an enzyme that digests tissue such as scars, hemi's, etc. I take one first thing in the morning, no hemi's since then. Also, no knee pain from old injury.


High Cholesterol  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Wieas (London, Uk) on 01/20/2016
5 out of 5 stars

I started taking Serrapeptase 80,000IU enteric coated approx 5 months ago after my doctor did a blood test and said I had high cholesterol.

After 3 months I returned to the doctor for another blood test. When the results came back the doctor stated how pleased she was that the result had improved a lot and asked me what I had been doing. I told her I'd been out walking and exercising a lot. I hadn't. I certainly didn't mention the Serrapeptase because I knew that I would be met with the condescending smirk she normally gives me when I mention natural remedies. She told me to keep up the good work and carry on doing what I'm doing!

The instructions on the package state 'take 1 to 2 tabets daily'. Sometimes I exceed this dosage over the course of a day, taking 6 to 10 tablets daily. Is this dangerous? Any research I've done on the internet seems to suggest there are no side effects but I was just wondering if anybody more knowledgeable than me is able to confirm that?

The reason I'm asking is that for the last 4 days I have had 3 or 4 very sharp pains each day around the heart area. These pains only last a couple of seconds, one pain after the other and then disappear. I was wondering if this might be related to the Serrapeptase or whether the sharp pains are something else?

Thanks.

Replied by Jim
Lake Elsinore, California
03/29/2016

Hello, you might wish to Google Smart meters and electromagnetic interference, dirty electricity and faraday cages. All the utility companies removed old style meters and replaced water, gas and electric with smart meters. I needed to call and have the meters replaced with old meters because I was having chest pain, fluttering heart.The wi fi, cell phone also causes these issues.I had 3 different Heart tests at the hospital and my heart was just fine. After eliminating these microwave devices all heart symptoms went away.

Serrapeptase has given me no heart symptoms @ 240000 iu twice a day.


Pain  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Amy (Metro Detroit , Michigan) on 02/25/2013
5 out of 5 stars

Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally was amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me. Also take B complex and turmeric daily, message with magnesium oil or take Epsom salt baths or foot soaks. Plus add a cushion to your shoes. This really works!


Scars  

Posted by Maria (Gippsland, Australia) on 12/01/2011

I have seen great results with serrapeptase on abdominal surgery scars (30 yr old).


Sinus Headache  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Anon (US) on 12/05/2014
5 out of 5 stars

Serrapeptase has taken away my sinus headaches. Each day I wake up so grateful and amazed to be headache free.

I hope other Earthclinic Readers find success with Serrapeptase too.


Sinus Infections  

5 star (1) 
  100%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Trisha (Liverpool, England) on 05/30/2013
5 out of 5 stars

Hi I have suffered most of my life with sinus problems have had an operation were they drilled the bone at top of my nose had some releif for a short time but I was told to try serrapeptase and the relief has been brilliant I take 2 80,000 tablets morning and night and they have been excellent.