Serrapeptase: Reviews, Dosages, and Side Effects

| Modified on Sep 15, 2021
Add New Post User Reviews

Serrapeptase, a nutritional supplement, is an enzyme derived from silkworms.  This enzyme breaks down non-living tissue, making it useful for a wide variety of conditions.  It is commonly recommended to remove plaque from arteries, dissolve scar tissue, decrease inflammation, dissolve blood clots, help varicose veins and heal cysts. Others have used it for lung disease, asthma and sinus problems, including polyps. It is also suggested for blocked fallopian tubes and varicose veins.

Serrapeptase Dosages

Serrapeptase can be bought in health food stores and online.  It is recommended to take one or two capsules one to three times a day on an empty stomach, with a glass of water.  Amounts in one capsule vary from manufacturer to manufacturer.  Some have as little as 40,000 Serratiopeptidase units per capsule. Others have as much as 120,000! When beginning a new supplement it is always best to start with the lowest dose and increase slowly to avoid side effects or detox reactions.

Serrapeptase Warnings

Reported side effects of serrapeptase include an increase in pain or worsening of symptoms. Side effects do seem to be rare for this supplement.
There are some people who should not use serrapeptase. For example, if you have had surgery for a hernia repair, the long term repair is dependent upon the scar tissue produced and attached to the mesh. Serrapeptase dissolves scar tissue, and this would be counterproductive for a hernia repair patient. Some cosmetic surgeries and procedures may also be compromised by serrapeptase use, including fat injections and face lifts. If a surgical procedure is supported by any non-living tissue, serrapeptase should not be used.

Serrapeptase Reviews

Earth Clinic readers have reported wonderful results when using serrapeptase as a natural remedy.

Trish from England reports: "I have suffered most of my life with sinus problems have had an operation were they drilled the bone at top of my nose had some relief for a short time but I was told to try serrapeptase and the relief has been brilliant I take 2 80,000 tablets morning and night and they have been excellent."

Amy from Michigan also had excellent results also.  She says, "Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally is amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me."

Please scroll down to see what Earth Clinic readers have experienced when using serrapeptase.

If you use serrapeptase, be sure to share your story with us!


Blocked Arteries

1 User Review
1 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Mike (Mudgee) on 09/04/2018
1 out of 5 stars

Used high doses of serrapeptase for almost 2 years to try and clear blocked carotid arteries, combining this with careful diet and exercise but with no apparent effect as checked with ultra sound.

Replied by Vlad
(New York)
09/04/2018

Absolutely useless, I would not give it even one star. I thought I am protected with 120000 units, together with double dose of nattokinase, 200 mg), twice a day ( quite aggressive dosages) from clots, etc. My walking distance due to intermittent claudication would not improve, if not getting worse, which suggests that my PAD is progressing. After realizing that my headaches are caused with narrowing blood vessels I started again baby aspirin (which I previously thought I didn't need thanks to the above supplements) and my headaches miraculously stopped. I appreciate that serrap. helped rats, but it helped me like a poultice to dead body. I also tried citrus pectin, which was short of miraculous for swains' arteries (that research was also funded by NIH), but where are those swains, who saw them?

To be fair, not only these oral enzymes and pectin are useless; same results, if not worse, I got from NIH TACT study of IV EDTA, in which I participated in 2005, after which my 90% open artery successfully closed.

Eventually (for leg arteries) I had to turn for revascularization (no matter how much I wanted to avoid it), and now, three years later, my surgeon is quietly waiting for my return, because he knows damn well that despite all this hoopla about miracle supplements I will come back by the simple reason - I still cannot walk, nor I can spend all my life to develop sufficient collateral circulation.

I also hoped to get rid from sinus infection at the same time, so I stopped washing my nose with antibiotic solution. Regardless of that, and twice a day wash with saline solution after several months of getting nowhere, I realized that I again should start Wilson wash.

So it is not all gold which shines. Keep your hope, but at the same time keep looking for more established remedy.

Joseph
(Stockton)
07/28/2021
62 posts

I was reading up on serrapeptase and first read 2 stories by users of the pill, then I read the horrible story about another that had high hopes on his Artery Plaque blockage being removed but unfortunately, it didn't help him. As a fair and objective person, I would say that one shoe size does not fit all and so he tried to no avail. There is no reason to bad mouth the product or messenger, they did the best they could, so did earth clinic, they all wanted you to succeed, I am sorry. Have you ever been helped by viewing this site? My son has had similar problems with different medicines, so I continue the search. It's been a few years, I hope you're doing well. Joseph

Lad S.
(Maryland)
08/16/2021

High dose Serrapeptase seemed an absolute miracle for my sinusitis, allergies and stuffy nose, and I was hoping it'd eventually help my PAD.

But I, and a friend I turned-on to it, both had synovial knuckle "blow outs" and subsequent cysts / bone-spurs while using it. This seems odd, since Serrapeptase is widely touted for join problems, but my friend recalled reading others online confirming this nasty side-effect.

I later learned from a hand specialist that it is the joint scar tissue that keeps the joints sealed and prevents cysts from returning. Seeing how Serrapeptase is also said to digest internal scarring, this is likely how it is bad for those with this joint condition. I wish Serapeptase was still available as a nasal spray formula so I could localize it's positive effects.

Pacific Coast Lady
(Crescent City, CA)
09/14/2021
124 posts

I so hope this helps me. I just discovered the Serrapeptase on a video of Dr. Berg's. I have had awful post nasal drip for a couple of years at the least, maybe longer. I had to go with a Type 2 diabetic diet which made it better, way better, but still there and I worry about that constant drainage causing worse issues later on.

So I'm going to try it, but would you be kind enough to let me know about the enzyme and a good brand since I notice with many supplements, you have to get the "right" type, the real deal. I accidentally bought synthetic Vitamin C for example, then had to buy the whole foods type, again, the real deal ;)

Thanks much!!

Replied by Jillery
(Durtham, Nc)
12/24/2018
88 posts

There is a familial type of heart issues that are genetic and does not respond well the natural cures.... perhaps you are one of these types of people? I can see your frustration and I am so sorry. Keep up with good diet practices and supplements but take your meds, buddy. Virtual hugs.

Replied by Alan
(W Yorks)
07/30/2020

Have you considered Nattokinase?

Cheryl
(TX)
08/17/2021
1 posts

https://www.health4youonline.com/blog/what-is-serrapeptase-questions-and-answers.html

I did find a naturopath answering your question that you missed.

Monday, 19 July 2021 | 8:25

We have not had any negative feedback in the last 21 years and millions of doses.


Cataracts

Posted by Karen (Ma) on 09/04/2018

I listen to a holistic radio show hosted by naturopaths in Massachusetts and they recommend taking serrapeptase supplements if you are in the beginning stage of cataracts. They also said you can take it to prevent cataracts.


Cysts

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Cheryl (Rochester, Ny) on 09/04/2018
5 out of 5 stars

Serrapatese. I started taking about 7 months ago to help clear arteries. Interestingly I had a golf ball size cyst or lump just above my hip bone about the same time. I decided to try my own thing which involved rubbing it with castor oil every night and morning limiting my progress to a 5 week check if no progress I would go to the doctors.

To my amazement cyst was half the size. Nose polyps are gone too. In July I kept forgetting to take it and the cyst laid stagnant. I tried to remember what I was doing and realized it was the serrapatese. 1 month later almost gone. Funny thing with home remedies is that sometimes one doesn't know that they are working until you stop taking it. Lobellia and Muellein for respiratory same story. Stopped my drops woke up congested..hadnt't done my muellein and lobelia routine. Hope this helps.


Ear Fluid

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Lyn (Heber) on 09/06/2018
5 out of 5 stars

My doctor recommended serrapeptase for drying the fluid in our ears. It worked!


Endometriosis

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Sue (Ks ) on 09/05/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have only used serrapeptase for two cycles of 4 months each but have found really good results for my endometriosis. I found that it dissolved the cysts or clotting that was or had occurred. My first menstrual cycle was painful as the cysts were actually leaving my body, however every cycle after that was less and less painful until there was no pain. My cycle was also shorter. The first week I initially felt flu like symptoms which I was told to expect -dull headache, just slightly unwell feeling- I pushed through. Glad I did. I took one tablet x two times a day. I started on the 40,000. I am about to try the higher dose soon. I believe it did work well. I would recommend it to women suffering from endometriosis for sure. I will update my review after a few months on the higher dose. Make sure you take it away from any protein foods on an empty stomach.


Hemorrhoids

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Trudyg (USA) on 05/30/2013
5 out of 5 stars

For hemorrhoids - you can take serrapeptase --an enzyme that digests tissue such as scars, hemi's, etc. I take one first thing in the morning, no hemi's since then. Also, no knee pain from old injury.


High Cholesterol

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Wieas (London, Uk) on 01/20/2016
5 out of 5 stars

I started taking Serrapeptase 80,000IU enteric coated approx 5 months ago after my doctor did a blood test and said I had high cholesterol.

After 3 months I returned to the doctor for another blood test. When the results came back the doctor stated how pleased she was that the result had improved a lot and asked me what I had been doing. I told her I'd been out walking and exercising a lot. I hadn't. I certainly didn't mention the Serrapeptase because I knew that I would be met with the condescending smirk she normally gives me when I mention natural remedies. She told me to keep up the good work and carry on doing what I'm doing!

The instructions on the package state 'take 1 to 2 tabets daily'. Sometimes I exceed this dosage over the course of a day, taking 6 to 10 tablets daily. Is this dangerous? Any research I've done on the internet seems to suggest there are no side effects but I was just wondering if anybody more knowledgeable than me is able to confirm that?

The reason I'm asking is that for the last 4 days I have had 3 or 4 very sharp pains each day around the heart area. These pains only last a couple of seconds, one pain after the other and then disappear. I was wondering if this might be related to the Serrapeptase or whether the sharp pains are something else?

Thanks.

Replied by Jim
(Lake Elsinore, California)
03/29/2016

Hello, you might wish to Google Smart meters and electromagnetic interference, dirty electricity and faraday cages. All the utility companies removed old style meters and replaced water, gas and electric with smart meters. I needed to call and have the meters replaced with old meters because I was having chest pain, fluttering heart.The wi fi, cell phone also causes these issues.I had 3 different Heart tests at the hospital and my heart was just fine. After eliminating these microwave devices all heart symptoms went away.

Serrapeptase has given me no heart symptoms @ 240000 iu twice a day.

Replied by L
(Ny)
07/23/2017

I read on pub med site that said it caused eosinophils in a few patients. More is not better.

Replied by Phaze
(California)
05/08/2018

I and many others also cannot bear 'smart'meters, with similar symptoms as described by Jim. People are homeless (or have died) because of these #@! -meters. (Watch out for celltowers coming to every block to enable the Internet of Things -- similar effects.) When first installed and I was suffering greatly, a friend covered the s-meter (electric, next door facing me) with 2 layers of heavy foil to help me out (was resorting to living in car) I was not seeing/watching what he did but felt sudden amazing relief. The effects are real, folks, even if you are not one of the 'sensitive' ones. If you can, opt-out of these and get your neighbors to do it too.

Replied by Joseph
(Stockton)
07/28/2021
62 posts

Hi young lady, I just read your story with Serrapeptase, I must say that is so dangerous to take that much more dosage than is required, it is not wise, I hope you have learn your lesson and the pains have subsided. Take dosages only of supplements you know such as in Orthomolecular medicines, there you can take mega doses but you still have to know it's safe and you didn't, you chose to gamble with your life. I wouldn't advise you to post dangerous comments because others may elect to repeat your mistake and pay the price. Good luck.


Knee Pain

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Matt (Cambridge) on 09/04/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I agree serrapeptase is amazing. I have stiff and painful knees from decades old meniscus tears in both knees. I started taking serrapeptase two months ago. One capsule (120,00 SPU) once a day on an empty stomach. Within a few days my knee pain disappeared. Whereas a couple of months ago I couldn't get up from a movie theatre or airplane seat without limping down the aisle from stiffness, I now had zero pain. I couldn't sit kneel and pull weeds from the garden. This summer I could. I ran out of capsules and didn't replenish my supply about two weeks ago and the knee pain and stiffness returned after about 10 days. So I will resume taking this supplement asap.


Mucus

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Caski (Herts, UK) on 09/05/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have used Serrapeptase to reduce mucus. It definitely has an effect, noticeable if I stop taking it or forget to take in on holiday with me. It does clear the mucus from my lungs and I feel less chesty. Useful for COPD patients.

Cutting out dairy also helps too.

PS I take Natures Best 250mg​


Pain

1 User Review
5 star (1) 
  100%


Posted by Amy (Metro Detroit , Michigan) on 02/25/2013
5 out of 5 stars

Take serrapeptase 1-2 x daily on an empty stomach. It literally was amazing. When you are in pain, you will search for instant relief and this was it for me. Also take B complex and turmeric daily, message with magnesium oil or take Epsom salt baths or foot soaks. Plus add a cushion to your shoes. This really works!


Scars

Posted by Maria (Gippsland, Australia) on 12/01/2011

I have seen great results with serrapeptase on abdominal surgery scars (30 yr old).


Serrapeptase and Surgical Implants

1 User Review
(1) 
  100%


Posted by Elaine (New Jersey) on 03/17/2021
0 out of 5 stars

I read the information provided by earth clinic on natural remedies for abdominal adhesions. I was hoping that you could help me understand and perhaps make a few suggestions for two of my relatives.

In the article, it said that serrapeptase should NOT be used for people who have implants. Can you explain this in more detail to me? After surgery, my relative had a titanium surgical steel implant put in her neck. Lymph nodes began to swell on both sides of her neck and they cannot figure out why this is happening. She does take serrapeptase. My theory is the serrapeptase is affecting the surgical steel and her lymph nodes are trying to filter something that has become dissolved from the steel. I am wondering if this is possible. The surgery caused scar tissue for another of my relatives. He also has implants.

What can he use to try to prevent the growth of new scar tissue which results from the surgery to remove the old scar tissue. If you can suggest something that could be used, would it still be effective even after a period of time that the body has had to heal after his recent surgery? At this time, no natural remedies have been given, therefore scar tissue has probably begun to form.

If you have some suggestions, I would be very grateful. Thank you

Replied by Earth Clinic
03/18/2021

Hi Elaine,

That is a great question, thank you. We reached out to the author of EC's article on Abdominal Adhesions as we couldn't find the source for that warning. Here is her reply:

I wrote that as an "err on the side of caution/first do no harm" warning.

It is perhaps too broad a caution and was not based on a particular source that I recall. I think I put the caution in bc I couldn't confirm that serrapeptase would be safe with implants. It was based on inference. i.e - if serrapeptase dissolves non-living tissue and most implants are made of non-living tissue, then it seems prudent to avoid substances that dissolve non-living tissue. Of course, serrapeptase doesn't dissolve all non-living tissue, but most people don't know what their implants are made of...and do we know everything that serrapeptase dissolves?

For example, I would be concerned about using it in conjunction with certain types of hernia mesh -

"Animal-derived mesh are made of animal tissue, such as intestine or skin, that has been processed and disinfected to be suitable for use as an implanted device. These animal-derived mesh are absorbable. The majority of tissue used to produce these mesh implants are from a pig (porcine) or cow (bovine) source."

Hernia Surgical Mesh Implants | FDA

Replied by Mama to Many
(TN)
03/18/2021

Dear Elaine,

From what I have read, I don't think that serrapeptase would break down metal, but I haven't done an exhaustive study on it. There are plenty of other possible causes of the pain.

Castor oil can be used to reduce scar tissue. As can comfrey. You may be able to find a salve that contains both or make your own. Many people take comfrey internally to reduce pain and promote healthy cell growth. I grow comfrey and put the leaves in smoothies all summer long.

Other anti-inflammatory/pain remedies would include turmeric, cayenne, and ginger.

I have recently found that baking soda in water once or twice a day is good for pain. Pain seems to thrive in an acidic environment.

Low water intake and sugar intake can also provoke pain.

Castor oil is also helpful for swollen lymph nodes, as is peppermint essential oil. (Be careful not to get this in the eyes! )

I hope you find some things to help your relatives!

~Mama to Many~

Replied by Katzie
(Calgary)
03/27/2021

For scarring, it is important to keep the area moist as this increases cellular turnover. I have used Castor Oil to remove many a scar, both old and new - though if you use manuka honey while the skin is knitting, there won't be much scarring. Any moisturizing oil is good, but Castor is the best. It takes at least 6 months to see a difference in colour. Remember also, that there is alot of action going on behind the scenes at a wound site, for up to a year! So if you start applying the Castor Oil 2x a day right away, that should mitigate scarring, as well.

Replied by Barb
(MA)
03/29/2021

I had surgery in 2018 and later was having pain from adhesions. A friend who was well-versed in the use of essential oils suggested massaging castor oil (organic) into the spots that were hurting. Worked very quickly. You also can use frankincense oil


Serrapeptase from China

3 User Reviews
5 star (1) 
  33%
(2) 
  67%


Posted by peggy (northern california) on 05/20/2021
0 out of 5 stars

Re: Serrapeptase for Ascites

just fyi - I have been taking serrapeptase for about 15 years - sometimes over a million units in a day with absolutely no side effects. The brand I used sold out to a chinese corporation. I was not aware of that and purchased it after not having used it for a year. about 45 minutes after taking 2 capsules I experienced severe stomach cramps and nausea which lasted for about six hours. duckduckgoed it and found the China connection. threw it away and got my money back.

Recently tried another brand that stated 'made in USA which I know can mean 'assembled in USA from ingredients sourced from China. took two capsules and again experienced severe stomach cramps and nausea which lasted for three days. just contacted the company and asked if any of the ingredients were sourced from China. response:

'Could you please give me a call? Your question can be interpreted in a number of ways, and I'm not sure how to answer it in a concise manner.'

That answered my question in no uncertain terms. Threw it away.

Serrapeptase is a wonder supplement on so many levels. But there is a very good reason for people wanting their supplements to be 'china free'. I will now have to try another brand because it is well worth the trouble. I would very much like to name the two brands that made me sick but do not know if that is allowed. Just in case - they were Drs. Best and restoreActive

cheer and good health to us all -

p


Serrapeptase from China
Posted by Charity (Faithville, Us) on 11/05/2018
0 out of 5 stars

I spent much time reading amazon reviews today and there is a pattern of people using products in the past year that get horrific diarrhea and vomitting and having to go to ER after two perfect ~happy satisfied customer~ weeks of use of the product . Heads up . There is talk of a lawsuit. I am a little scared now, I was doing great and used 45 pills so far. Is it russian roulette. Now I feel a need to warn people incase their is a bad supplier, mine is Doctors Best and one commentor said the company was sold but I don't know?

Replied by Robert Henry
(Ten Mile, Tn)
11/06/2018

HI U OLE PATOOTS DOIN,,,,,,,,,,, have no clue what this means, but Dr's Best is now a Chinese company. Don't have good vibes abut that.

====ORH====

Replied by Deirdre
(LA)
11/06/2018

I noticed about two months ago, when I went to buy more serrapeptase on Amazon, that there's an increase in negative reviews about Doctors Best Serrapeptase brand increasing from April, 2018 on. I am not convinced they are genuine reviews; a few too many about being violently ill and at least one suggesting you contact them to start a class action suit.

All sorts of issues on Amazon coming to the surface. Not just fake reviews, which is an old problem, but more fake supplement brands being sold by third parties. Here's a link to the 1 star reviews for Dr's Best Serrapeptase in case anyone is interested. https://amzn.to/2AQ1DtT

Check out how many negative reviews since April!

Replied by Frances
(Cabarlah, Qld.)
11/06/2018

I've been using Doctor's Best Serrapeptase for quite and some time and have had no complaints.

Replied by Art
(California)
11/06/2018
953 posts

Deirdre,

I agree on the fake third party brands that are being sold. I bought a two pack of eye drops that I wanted to use for a recent experiment. Both bottles were supposed to be from the same lot and should have had the same batch numbers on them, but they were different. I opened one and it had the smell of mildew which I had never noticed in any other eye drop solution before then, so I opened the other bottle to see if it also smelled like that. It didn't, so I wrote the supplier and explained the problem to them. They responded by asking if I wanted a refund for the bottle that smelled like mildew. I told them no, that I would send the bottles back and they should send me a pre-inspected replacement pair. They told me to keep the bottles and that they would refund my credit card. That response told me that they were aware of the problem before I ordered their product!

I feel like I should have contacted, Systane, the original manufacturer of the product and let them know what was going on, but I got busy and forgot about it.

Clearly, there seems to be issues with fake goods! The product I received looked just like other bottles of Systane that I have used in the past. It worries me because what if I had had a cold and could not have smelled that mildew smell? What could it have done to my eyes had I used the whole bottle?

Art

Replied by Charlottechick
(Charlotte, Nc)
11/07/2018

WHAT?! Doctor's Best has recently been my "go to" manufacturer! I just found this:

Doctor's Best CEO Gale Bensussen

Doctor's Best is now owned by the Kingdomway Group, a publicly traded company in China. The primary reason Kingdomway purchased Doctor's Best was to provide an authentic, manufactured in the USA brand to the rapidly expanding market in Asia. U.S. brands are considered to be of the highest quality and are sought after in those markets.

Therefore, it is fundamental to Kingdomway's investment that the brand not only maintain its authenticity and integrity, but continue to be manufactured in the USA. There have been no changes in the staff, sourcing, or our quality standards. Doctor's Best is headquartered in California and our manufacturing is done in the USA and will remain in the USA.

We appreciate the trust our consumers have in our brand and we will maintain our brands' quality and integrity as our pledge to our consumers.

Gale Bensussen CEO

Replied by KT
(Usa)
11/09/2018

I purchased Serrapeptase from www.SmartNutrition.info. Does anyone else purchase anything from this site?

KT

Ovrnite
(Knoxville, Tn)
11/11/2018

I used to buy from them years ago, now I buy serrapeptase 40K 'best naturals' from amazon for last 5 months. Had been using 120K 'source naturals' for last couple years. Switched due starting to get too many 'cherry angiomas'.

Replied by KT
(Usa)
11/11/2018

Years ago they came in tablets and I stopped taking them due to the "inactive ingredients", one of which was a calcium ingredient and enteric coating. I don't know when they changed to capsules but the fillers have changed from being six to just two and appear to be safer. I don't ingest the capsules.

KT

Replied by Pearl
(Wyobraska)
12/11/2018

Interesting that half the reviews on this EC page are from 9/4/18 and 9/5/18. I think we're all accustomed to watching Amazon for that kind of behavior because it suggests fake reviews, but I didn't think it would affect my favorite site, Earth Clinic.

I just ordered my 2nd bottle of Dr's Best 40,000 from Amazon, but I wanted to check the EC comments because both my husband and I got bronchitis really bad while taking it a couple of years ago. We'd never taken it for longer than a week before that. It quite certainly may have been a coincidence since it was January and that was going around, but we both ended up really sick and I got scared of taking it for awhile.

I'm starting to think if it sounds too good to be true it just might not be.

Replied by Jillery
(Durtham, Nc)
12/24/2018
88 posts

Oy veh Robert Henry!! I think this is a good thing to keep our eyes on. The is a good response from another writer that makes me feel better about Dr's Best but but but. Do you recall the scare when powered plastic was being put in baby formula.... I think in the 60s or 70s. Always be aware of ALL companies no matter where they are located. Peace baby Peace

Replied by Prioris
(ME)
02/09/2021
5 out of 5 stars

So far, I have seen no quality drop from doctors best. In China, US and foreign brands are prized because of quality. China has an quality control problem INTERNALLY for it's domestic market due to cost cutting. There is a LACK OF TRUST by China's population regarding iNTERNALLY produced products. I can understand why it would buy the supplement company.


Serrapeptase Side Effects

1 User Review
(1) 
  100%


Posted by Lad S. (Maryland) on 08/16/2021
0 out of 5 stars

Serrapeptase seems like a Miracle for everything: sinusitis, joints, inflammation, internal scarring, clogged arteries, etc.

BUT it also seems to have one, BAD side-effect for me.

I started to up my dosage to 60-120,000 SPU of a big Serrapeptase brand specifically labeled for "healthy sinuses." It was suddenly like a miracle for my chronic sinusitis and allergies - even better than using antihistamines or nasal steroids.

I emailed an online health-nut friend all about it. When he tried it, what he most noticed was dramatic inflammation relief. He started taking it in lieu of Ibuprofen, and told others about it, too.

In passing, I later mentioned how a thumb joint recently had a big "blow-out" injury - a huge, synovial cyst and subsequent stiff bone spur - which my other knuckles have suffered over the past decades - but this was bigger.

He replied that he, too, recently got two of them on his own knuckles for the first time.

He said that he read some online reviews mentioning this can happen when using Serrapeptase.

At first, I couldn't believe it, since Serrapaptase is supposed to help, not hurt joints. Nevertheless, we both backed off using it.

After my cyst didn't go away for over a year, I finally had it drained by a hand specialist, who warned it may return eventually (it did). He added that it is actually the BUILT-UP SCAR TISSUE WITHIN THE DAMAGED JOINTS that PREVENT further leakage and damage from happening.

"EUREKA! " I thought. While Serrapeptase may helpfully remove other painful, or swollen, internal scars, it could also work against a condition like mine.

My online friend gave Serrapeptase another go recently since he missed it so much for his bodily inflammation - and he got yet another blown-out knuckle.

I've since tried a number of other, alternate enzymes for my sinuses and arteries - and seemed to notice higher doses will start to swell and irritate my knuckles again before helping my nose or circulation out at all.

So, I'm truly sorry to warn against using Serrapepse to anyone who has a condition like mine (technically "Heberden's Nodes") or with any similar, joint issues.

(I read that there was once a Serrapeptase Nasal Spray available. A more direct, topical application of the enzyme sounded ideal for my sinus concerns - but it is no longer sold.)



NEXT 
1 2