Borax for Mange - Ted's Remedy for Demodectic and Sarcoptic Mange

Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Marilyn (Queensbury, NY) on 11/15/2006
5 out of 5 stars

Thanks for your reply about the solution near the eyes. I thought I'd update you on our progress. As I wrote earlier, Onyx gets very scared when a hose is used for bathing, so I have yet to bathe her. I have been using the solution as a "sponge bath" on her bare spots and around her eyes twice a day for just over a week now... within 3 days the hair was starting to grow back!! Two of the spots over her hips are barely noticable now. She's not crazy about being sponged along her muzzle or down the front of her chest...but we manage. Thanks to the combination of the antibiotics for the pustules and the borax solution, she doesn't smell like a nasty dog anymore! She goes back to her vet in a couple of weeks for a recheck - I will definitely be telling him about your cure!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Sarah (Liverpool, Nova Scotia, Canada) on 10/25/2006
5 out of 5 stars

Lady is a19 month old valley bull... she had mange when we got her at 8 weeks old ..We had to take her to the vet -- it cost us over a 1000.00 dollars. She got rid of the mange for about 2 months .. the vet said they couldn't get the dip for her anymore ..so i saw Remedy #2 on the internet so i through i try it.. she is looking real good, nice and white and no more streching and digging ...Thought I would let you know it worked real well on her. Thanks.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Nancy (Selma, Indiana) on 10/09/2006
5 out of 5 stars

I took my chocolate lab to (2) different vets trying to figure out what was going on with his skin. They put him on cortisone pills, antibiotics, had me dip him in sulphur dips on five day intervals. Nothing seemed to help him. He would appear to somewhat get better, but nothing major noticeable. The smell never eased up. On my own, I tried vinegar baths and other things to try and ease up and/or cure his condition. Nothing ever helped. A year later and about $500.00 American dollars poorer; I was about to give up hope of helping him. Then, I stumbled onto your remedy using peroxide, borax, and water. I thought, why not give it a shot; I've spent out all sorts of $$ on every type of cure thinkable. If it helps him, I would be so much relieved for him. I went to the store that evening and bought a box of mule team borax, two bottle of peroxide (I anticipated more than one treatment, and I was right) and a sponge for application. The next afternoon, I cornered the poor fellow and sponged on a dose of the mixture. He wasn't impressed, but he is a little gun shy about washings and dips since he has been subjected to so much in and so many treatments already. I laid in on heavy this first treatment , and left it to dry up on him. He rolled around in the yard like any other treatment or bath and then went about his usual business. The next day, he seemed less flaky; and when I brushed him, the skin flakes seemed to just come right out with ease. Two days later, I made up another batch. A little less potent this time. I sponged him down again ( to his dismay, he hates personal hygiene issues now) I left this on to dry. The next day, he had some dried up flakes; but not near as many. Most of the yellowish scale was gone; and his odor was starting to improve (Not gone all the way though) Two days later, I again made up another batch and sponged it all over him. Left it to dry. The next day, he had hardly any new flakes, his odor is gone, hair is starting to re grow. I'm just totally amazed. I am going to make a spritz and lightly spritz him once a week when I brush him out and hopefully he will remain in remission for whatever this stuff was. Maybe it was the red mange. Whatever it was, your #2 cure has given him his life back. He had to be miserable. Thank you for sharing your remedy; I'm ecstatic. $3.90 for a box of borax, $1.00 for 2 bottles of peroxide, a couple cents worth of water equals approximately $5.00..................my dog's well being and peace of mind from the savages of his skin condition, priceless!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Jenny (UK) on 09/18/2006
5 out of 5 stars

Hello Ted, The first thing I would like to do if it were at all possible, would be to shake your hand Ted and thank you most sincerely for your advice on the treatment of 'Dermodecosis' (Red Mange).

For us your advice has been a miracle cure! We have 2 exceptional examples of how your advice on the use of the 'wash and Borax / Hydrogen Peroxide soaks' have worked and they are as follows:

1st example - We had a litter of pups and at about 4 weeks old one pup started to get pimples on his head and chest. We duly took him to the vet suspecting an allergy to either the grass or a change in the soap powder we used. The vet confirmed this and put him on antibiotics and some antihistamine tablets.

One week later the pimples had spread over his head, neck, throat and chest and most of the others had them too. The boys were by far the worst affected. We took the original pup back to the vet and one other and he immediately diagnosed the cause as being the Dermodex Mite or 'Red Mange'. The only treatment he recommended was 'Advocate' a liquid anti-mite/flea/worm treatment which is applied on the skin on the back of the neck, but as per instructions, our pups were too young for it. The next day the vet phoned the manufacturers of Advocate and they said it was safe to use in a pup of nearly 6 weeks old but it had to be an exact amount according to the individual weight of the pup. So, later that day the vet came out weighed each pup and applied the appropriate amount of liquid. The pups had to be separated from each other, to avoid the stuff being licked off. This was duly done and did they scream? You betcha they did!

4 days later and the pups were far worse, with the first pup now being bright red virtually all over the front half from the waist forward and some of the skin had cracked and little sores were developing. In my opinion, the Avocate had done absolutely nothing to help and the situation was becoming hopeless.

In a desperate attempt to find something to help these poor babies, I went on the internet, came across 'www.earthclinic.com' and Ted with his 'miracle cure' (no joke!).

We brought all the pups into the kitchen, washed each in turn with a little shampoo and warm water, then placed them in a tub we had bought for the purpose and soaked them in the Borax/Hydrogen Peroxide solution and left them sopping wet to dry on towels/blankets in front of the fire (but not too close).

We both got well covered ourselves and many times had the solution splashed onto our faces and in ours eyes. Absolutely no pain was experienced by either of us, which was really reassuring, as we didn't't know whether or not the solution would sting. The pups didn't't mind the bathing part but were quite distressed at being left soaking wet and made no bones about telling us off! Again this was somewhat distressing but we followed Ted's instructions and resisted the temptation to dry them off.

It took some time for them to dry completely and once they were all content again we fed them and all was well. We did end up with 9 rather white and dusty pups, as when they dried, powder deposits remained on their coats: got to say, they did look quite cute though, especially the black ones! Now this is where we feel the miracle fits in - 2 DAYS LATER, the original pup had almost totally cleared of his redness, spots, scabs and sores and this is fact! All the other pups that had been infected had the same result - absolutely amazing! The relief for us was phenomenal, I can tell you and not to mention for our pups.

We repeated the 'wash and soak' as Ted suggests, 3 days later and before the week was out there was absolutely no sign of the Dermodecosis what so ever. I have gone on a bit so I will end here and give you the 2nd example later.

Please note the above is my personal experience and the views contained there in are my own. A MASSIVE THANK YOU TED FROM ALL OF US (2 and 4 legged ones) FOR ALL YOUR ADVICE, YOU WILL NEVER KNOW JUST HOW EXTREMELY GRATEFUL WE ARE.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Vincent (Modesto, CA) on 09/11/2006
5 out of 5 stars

I used the peroxide, Vinegar,and 20 mule team borax soap. It started to take effect right when I put it on my dog, which has been itching forever and losing hair even around her eyes. The itching has stopped. Mira has elephant skin also during this ordeal on her webbing in between her legs which is smoothing out also. One bottle of 3% peroxide and two bottles of water from the empty bottle of peroxide which brings it down to 1% in a water pitcher. !/2 cup unfiltered vinegar, 1/2 cup borax and it will dissolve. I shampooed her first and let her dry. Then sprayed the solution all over her between her toes also and pads and leave it on. You will see the difference in her skin right away. Adding 1/8 teaspoon Borax to 2 liters of water for drinking all the time cleanses the inside also of mites from itching and biting. I spray her down every other day with the solution....I hope this works for you.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Sally (Oklahoma City, OK) on 08/22/2006
5 out of 5 stars

I have been doing Ted's treatment for about three weeks and it is slowly curing the mange


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Jack (Toledo, OH) on 07/23/2006
5 out of 5 stars

My daughter got a miniature dashund from a "Petco store" that had touch of mange on his ears, which started out the size of a dime, it spread to the size of a silver dollar sized area on both ears, I gave him a good bath and dried him off. then soaked him mostly his ears, and applied the "Borax, peroxide, a little lemon juice in a 1/2 gallon of water, soaked him in it and "DID NOT DRY HIM,LET IT DRY ON HIS WHOLE BODY , ITS BEEN ABOUT 8 WEEKS NOW AND ALL HE HAIR ON HIS EARS IS GROWN BACK. HE'S NOW A BEAUTIFUL, little guy very perky, with a small white area on his chest and the rest a typical reddish brown.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Trudy (Cynthiana, KY) on 01/18/2006
5 out of 5 stars

I knew my dog had mange this summer, or possibly a terrible case of flea allergies. All I knew was if I went to the vet he would slowly poison my dog, at a very high cost to me. Traditional mange treatments are very harsh, mitaban is extremely toxic to say the least. I'm not against going to the vet, I sure have spent a lot of money on my four dogs there. So I searched for natural non toxic remedies, and I found your website. At the time you had only 2 remedies posted. At this point my dog was only 1 1/2 years old, a purebred, and well taken care of, there was no good reason for him having mange, or at the worst terrible flea allergies. He is a beautiful black and white Australian Shepherd. This is what I did.

I tried the remedy from Ted of Bangkok. I had two problems with his recipe. I never could keep enough hydrogen peroxide in the house. I only used it twice. And he said to leave the mixture on the dog, and don't dry him off, well what do you do with a sopping wet dog in the house, or when it's super cold outside. So I modified the recipe and method of application. Max (my dog) had lost at least 60% or more of his fur, from his shoulder blades all the way to his tail, including his legs, underbelly, and even the back of his ears. This was pathetic, I'm sorry but I didn't take pictures, to prove my point. THIS IS HOW I CURED MAX. These are the ingredients I used. You must buy these, nothing else, no substitutes. 20 MULE TEAM BORAX, it will say natural laundry booster under Borax, you can get it at Wall Mart Super Centers, and ORGANIC APPLE CIDER VINEGAR, IT'S RAW AND UNFILTERED, You can only get it at a health food store. ( Do not buy at a grocery store, those vinegars only smell and look like vinegar, but they have absolutely no medicinal value.) The third and last ingredient is simple cheap, people shampoo, like VO5, or Suave.

THIS IS HOW TO APPLY. IF YOU DOG IS REALLY, REALLY, BAD WITH MANGE, DO THIS EVERY THIRD DAY. WHEN MY MAX STARTED GETTING BETTER, USUALLY AFTER WASHING HIM EVERY THIRD DAY FOR TWO WEEKS, NOW I ONLY DO HIM ONCE A WEEK. Now all you need is a small plastic cereal bowl. Put 1/2 cup of borax in bowl, now put 1 1/2 to 2 cups of warm water in the bowl, mix it very well with a spoon, not all of it will dissolve, lots of it will settle on the bottom of the bowl, don't worry. Now add 1/4 to 1/3 cup of Apple Cider Vinegar to the bowl, mix well. Your dog is now in the tub, well lathered up, Now you take the mixture, and pour, or apply by hand all over his body, it will spread easily, don't worry about the grittiness, just don't rub it in too hard, it might fell like sandpaper on the dogs skin. I would have my dog sit with all this stuff on him in the tub for at least 3-5 minutes. Well I was worried about winter, and my fur less dog, but now in less than two months all of his fur is back, happy, healthy, and playing in the snow. One thing I didn't mention at the onset of his problem I did a 2 week detox on him to help out his immune system. This sure couldn't hurt any dog with illnesses. P.S. Get the book " Apple Cider Vinegar " It's only $8.00 at your Health Food Store, or go to www.bragg.com to order. This is an amazing old time, folk type remedy. I've been taking it for less than 2 months, and have had amazing results, you'll know why your dog is getting better once you know what this product is capable of doing. I wish good health to everyone's best buddies, good luck!!!