Borax for Mange - Ted's Remedy for Demodectic and Sarcoptic Mange

Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by LKH (North Carolina) on 01/27/2022
5 out of 5 stars

Hi, I have been using this borax and peroxide treatment on my dog for a about a year now… It is the only thing in this world that helps! …but I haven't done the every other day baths until now. I am really determined this time ..I have shaved most of the hair completely off my dog..it's a game changer.. you can see the problem areas more clearly….you are not expending energy going thru a full haired 80 lb labrador dog..which believe me will wear you out every other day.

I also have used the borax water recipe on all our animals for about 5 years now both dogs and cats and they all are very healthy. Our lab is the only one that has the demodectic mange..He is 9 yrs old.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Mim H. (Northern Illinois) on 10/12/2019
5 out of 5 stars

I used Ted's borax remedy and after the second treatment, my doxie is back. Happy and so comfortable with his horrible belly sores almost gone. Winter is coming and I am glad that I will be up to the weekly bath by Thanksgiving and hopefully by January will have finished the 12 weeks. Thank you again for this treatment as the vet just pushes that disgusting medication. My dog thanks you as well!!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Kathleen Christian (Portland, Oregon) on 07/03/2019
5 out of 5 stars

Hello,

about six years ago I adooted my Dad's four year old golden retriever, Belle. Dad had cancer and about the last six months of his life began doing things that didnt really make sense. Belle was the light of his life! But in his illness what he thought was spoiling her and giving her the best was resulting in horrible conditions. Her right ear was constantly swollen and inflamed with yeast infections. Her eyes had yellow and green discharge, she was very overweight and her coat was patched from her biting, chewing and licking her skin. He kept taking her to his vet who kept prescribing antibiotics and steroids, but as soon as the round was finished would go back to back with prescriptions. None of it was helping her. After Dad passed I took Belle home with me. I had a 13-year (but looked and acted like a puppy) old mini schnauzer, Samson, who I adored. Within a month of bringing home Bella, Samson quit eating and was getting so thin. Took them both to my vet who informed me that Samson had a large tumor in his front chest that was suffocating him. He also had a pkethora of medicine for Belle and wanted to give her steroids. I was feeding them both Nutro dry kibble and he shamed me and insisted I buy the Vetrinarian Science Diet he sold. ( after that I studied up on how bad that formula is and that the vets get kickbacks for each sale) so, I eventually was able to get him to release both dogs records, went home and started my journey in the internet. My little buddy Samson had to be put to sleep which to this day was the hardest thing ever. I had someone come to my home to do it and the minute shec came through the door and sat on the carpet with us, he sat up in her lap and new. He had the look of relief. I miss him still and that was six years ago. So, Bella. What to do about my poor 'Princepessa'. Ted saved her (and me) First, I put her in a limited ingredient diet, Acana lamb and rice. Dad was deeding her 2 juice injected chicken breasts a say along with whatever else he thought she woukd like....tuna cat food, potatoes, milk bones...etc.

So I cut out all chicken and to minimize sugar (due to her constant yeast infections) no potatoes, limited grain. Treats were and still are either Wet Noses berry buscuits or Mud bay no grain no chicken treats, Trader Joes Salmon jerkey. I would put ACV in ger water, food and use it as a rinse in her bath. I gave her Organic whole milk bulgarian yogurt in the morning. She lost about 25 lbs which was a great start. Was happy as can be but her ears and skin were terrible mess and stinky. I tried topicals, oil of oregano ( that didnt go over well!) Coconut oil, she would hust lick it off and the scratch and chew herself raw. The cone of shame..no go.... Dr. Ted's mange recipe was our saving grace. after work every other evening I began the routine faithfully. Unfortunately it was winter so it was hard for me to let her drip dry for 30 minutes before trying to do a little warm blow dry, but she was so sweet about it. We bonded. I think anxiety from the loss of my Dad, moving to a new home where I was gone all day and loosing her buddy Samson definitely exasperated her nerves and immunities, but I was on a mission! This was a long process, so please be dedicated and patient. Something else I did to help with the chewing whenever I not home...I took an old t-shirt of mine that I wore to sleep one night, put her front legs thru the arms, her head thru the neck, pulled it ove her back and yummy and cut holes for her back legs! This held the shirt over the area she would lick and chew at. After I would fet dressed each morning I would say, 'now let's get Bella's 'pretty dres's on'. She would get so excited. Once in a while I would take a pair if old drawstring sweat pants, cut them into shorts and put those on tucking in the shirt. Slowly but surely she began healing. As her wounds became smaller from the borax baths I would rub some coconut oil into them for anti-bacterial protection and to encourage the healing process. Her smell began to go away. Her right ear was still a BIG challenge. Betadine solution in a cotton pad, then I would spray colloidal silver.

At night I would rub with coconut oil. She new the routine and would lay in her left side as soon as she saw the cotton and coconut oil. All she knew is I was was trying to help her and she was thankful. And I was and am sooo thankful that she trusts me so much! One other thing, you know the all to familiar 'frito feet' smell? Try this, I take a cotton pad, dip it in brown Listerine and rub it in her paws. After a couple times if that...no more frito feet! Repeat as necessary which shouldnt need to be often if your buddy isnt suffering from an underlying larger yeast issue! Cheap and very effective! Belle is a beautiful happy, healthy 10 year old who looks and acts (physically) much younger than that! Everybody in the neighborhood loves her and counts in her smile as they go to work or come home. When they no we're iutsise, they come out to let her....I feel like the Pied Piper! And now...her diet: AM:-1 cup dry kibble (Acana singles, lamb and rice) with three pumps Grizzly Pollock Oil brand Omega 3 Fatty Acids and about a quarter cup water. Swish it around in the bowl and she loves it! PM: 1 cup same dry kibble and one heaping tablespoon of canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie filler!) Treats remain the same as above with occasional fresh apple or banana and pnut butter. Her coat is like silk! Ted's remedy worked like a miracle after trying so many other things that didnt work.

I highly encourage and endorse using this method for your pet...and remember, patience and commitment! This brought us both so close to one another after our losses. Belle (a.k.a. Princepessa) is my best friend and faithful companion!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Barb (Duluth, MN) on 02/02/2019
5 out of 5 stars

We are 1 week into Ted's mange treatment and what a difference. I started treating drinking water at the same time due to how bad the mange got. To prevent scratching, I cut of a pair of tights for socks and used medical tape to keep them on and then put a pair of mittens over socks. I also cut tight waist band off to make a fabric shield for middle of my pom's body. And then I covered him in a child's onesie after he dried again to prevent scratching. His hair is starting to grow back and he is so much more comfortable now. Will update each week.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Ruth D. (Florida) on 01/09/2019
5 out of 5 stars

Dexter the Irish Russel got a whopping case of some sort of crud that was initially thought to be of no consequence. Then the heat and humidity of summer struck and Dex bloomed into a itchy, hairless mess. Tried Ted's mange formula when other treatments failed, and within a week he showed significant improvement. He is starting to 'pink up' where he lost his fur, and little wisps of hair are breaking out all over. I am very happy, but not nearly as happy as Dexter.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Walter's Mama (Henderson, Nv) on 12/17/2018
5 out of 5 stars

When we adopted our dog Walter 4 years ago he came to us with Demodex mange. We used Ted's cure and it was a godsend, he got immediate relief from his itching and the mange eventually cleared up. Now a few years down the road he has come into contact with dog lice. I really don't want to use any of the chemical things suggested by the vet and I'm curious if anyone knows if this treatment would also work on dog lice?


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Meredith J. (Louisiana) on 06/27/2018 1 posts
5 out of 5 stars

When we got Loki he had a few tiny red bumps on his belly and he had a faint odor. We automatically thought fleas and he needed a bath. We gave him a bath in Dawn and picked a few fleas but not many and the odor returned a few hours later. As the days rolled by the bumps got worse and became rough. Loki's odor became more pungent and he started itching a lot. Found out that Loki had mange. I came across Ted's Remedy!!! Very affordable, convenient, easy and our pup loved the frequent attention from both of his fav peeps. This really works. Thanks.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Josie (Manalapan) on 06/19/2018
5 out of 5 stars

Borax, HydroPerxide, Water solution:

Bye Bye expensive sprays, shampoos, and ointment. This is all I need to treat my mini French poodle baby. On the very first day of treatment - I noticed a big improvement. I wonder why none of her vets (she had three and no one ever made her condition any better) did not recommend this formula. It's been three weeks and the itching, watery eyes, bad temper - all gone. She is happy!! I am happy too!!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Jax (Sanford, Nc) on 06/16/2018
5 out of 5 stars

This is a great site. I just discovered you by accident. I have every bug on earth here, snakes, poison oak/poison ivy. My poor animals have been getting mange for the first time. My pigs got it and one dog it because she kept laying in the mite fabric the pigs laid in. I had it in plastic bags off the floor to take to laundromat. I have been bathing her in a tea-tree/oatmeal shampoo.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Harry (Yorkshire, Uk) on 02/21/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have sort of used this method twice....

H2O2 is easy to get hold of, from the chemists in the UK, but the Borax less so...

First time, the male border collie had mange type hair loss and scabbing to the side of his rear leg, the large muscle area. I didn't bath him and couldn't track down any Borax, just the substitute, so I just diluted H2O2 and put that in a spray bottle. I wasn't expecting much without the Borax, but provided near immediate and it cleared up within a week. I kept on just spraying daily for 10 days.

For the past two weeks, his younger sister has been chewing at her front legs, hair loss and beginning to bleed and scab, gradually getting worse for her. This time I managed to get hold of some 20 Mule Team Borax, it arrived 1 days ago, so I made it up roughly as described - except I put in in a spray bottle. I gave her a good bath, let her shake and drip, then sprayed her thoroughly and left her somewhere warm to dry. I have sprayed her daily since, but concentrating mainly on the two affected front legs. The crisis seems to be almost over, scabs going and hair returning. It has though left her hair generally looking very dry, so I may need to address that, once the treatment stops.


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Steve (Trenton, Nj) on 02/20/2018
5 out of 5 stars

One day after the first washing and treatment with Ted's remedies, our dog is already seeing some relief.

Because of the mites, do we need to do something to our carpeting or our dogs beds which have a removable cover?

Thank you so much!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Nancy (Houston, Tx) on 10/25/2017
5 out of 5 stars

i found a stray dog and she had mange so bad. I just did a mange treatment on her the other day. She is not scratching as bad. Going to do another one tonight. One question I have will can Lysol Disinfectant kill any mites that might be in her crate? If Not, then what can I use to spray any where she has gone?


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Jlefebre (Sacramento) on 10/22/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much for this mange formula. I believed my dog to have mange but could not afford the vet visits and medication so I had been looking on the internet for a possible solution. It seemed like such a scary problem and she was scratching so much, loosing hair, could not sleep and lost weight.This has worked and has worked so well! My dogs hair has grown back and she is not scratching all the time. She is so much happier and has put some weight back on. She is back to being happy and healthy and we are happy and appreciative too. Give this a try!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Sharon (Greenville, South Carolina) on 08/03/2017
5 out of 5 stars

My lab mix got a spot on her shoulder, and one under her leg. We took her to the vet, they did a mite scrape but it came back negative. A week later, and the spots have gotten worse with new ones starting to appear. We tried the apple cider vinegar remedy at first, but it wasn't appearing to do anything. Then we tried Ted's cure and her hair started growing back! This mix really is working. Her hair is mostly/all grown back after about 6 weeks!


Borax and Peroxide User Reviews
Posted by Pam (Texas) on 07/30/2017
5 out of 5 stars

I used this on our Min Schnauzer mix. He had lost his hair in places, had a horrible yeast smell and ear irritation. The vet said he was allergic to Chicken and prescribed expensive medicines. We have tried dog food without chicken, tried Coconut oil, and everything we could think of. NOTHING HELPED until I tried your remedy.

We followed the directions to a T. Bathed him twice a week for the first 2 weeks and noticed a difference after the 2nd bath. He actually felt better. He still itched and had red spots but we saw improvement. After about 3 weeks I noticed his hair was growing back on his chest.

We continued through the 8 weeks. He looks great. His coat is thick and shinny and he feels great. He's more active and doesn't have that horrible yeast smell any longer.



NEXT