Borax for Mange - Ted's Remedy for Demodectic and Sarcoptic Mange

Borax and Peroxide User Reviews  

5 star (196) 
  81%
4 star (13) 
  5%
3 star (12) 
  5%
1 star (16) 
  7%
(4) 
  2%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Josie (Manalapan) on 06/19/2018
5 out of 5 stars

Borax, HydroPerxide, Water solution:

Bye Bye expensive sprays, shampoos, and ointment. This is all I need to treat my mini French poodle baby. On the very first day of treatment - I noticed a big improvement. I wonder why none of her vets (she had three and no one ever made her condition any better) did not recommend this formula. It's been three weeks and the itching, watery eyes, bad temper - all gone. She is happy!! I am happy too!!


Posted by Jax (Sanford, Nc) on 06/16/2018
5 out of 5 stars

This is a great site. I just discovered you by accident. I have every bug on earth here, snakes, poison oak/poison ivy. My poor animals have been getting mange for the first time. My pigs got it and one dog it because she kept laying in the mite fabric the pigs laid in. I had it in plastic bags off the floor to take to laundromat. I have been bathing her in a tea-tree/oatmeal shampoo.


Posted by Harry (Yorkshire, Uk) on 02/21/2018
5 out of 5 stars

I have sort of used this method twice....

H2O2 is easy to get hold of, from the chemists in the UK, but the Borax less so...

First time, the male border collie had mange type hair loss and scabbing to the side of his rear leg, the large muscle area. I didn't bath him and couldn't track down any Borax, just the substitute, so I just diluted H2O2 and put that in a spray bottle. I wasn't expecting much without the Borax, but provided near immediate and it cleared up within a week. I kept on just spraying daily for 10 days.

For the past two weeks, his younger sister has been chewing at her front legs, hair loss and beginning to bleed and scab, gradually getting worse for her. This time I managed to get hold of some 20 Mule Team Borax, it arrived 1 days ago, so I made it up roughly as described - except I put in in a spray bottle. I gave her a good bath, let her shake and drip, then sprayed her thoroughly and left her somewhere warm to dry. I have sprayed her daily since, but concentrating mainly on the two affected front legs. The crisis seems to be almost over, scabs going and hair returning. It has though left her hair generally looking very dry, so I may need to address that, once the treatment stops.


Posted by Steve (Trenton, Nj) on 02/20/2018
5 out of 5 stars

One day after the first washing and treatment with Ted's remedies, our dog is already seeing some relief.

Because of the mites, do we need to do something to our carpeting or our dogs beds which have a removable cover?

Thank you so much!


Posted by Nancy (Houston, Tx) on 10/25/2017
5 out of 5 stars

i found a stray dog and she had mange so bad. I just did a mange treatment on her the other day. She is not scratching as bad. Going to do another one tonight. One question I have will can Lysol Disinfectant kill any mites that might be in her crate? If Not, then what can I use to spray any where she has gone?


Posted by Jlefebre (Sacramento) on 10/22/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you so much for this mange formula. I believed my dog to have mange but could not afford the vet visits and medication so I had been looking on the internet for a possible solution. It seemed like such a scary problem and she was scratching so much, loosing hair, could not sleep and lost weight.This has worked and has worked so well! My dogs hair has grown back and she is not scratching all the time. She is so much happier and has put some weight back on. She is back to being happy and healthy and we are happy and appreciative too. Give this a try!


Posted by Sharon (Greenville, South Carolina) on 08/03/2017
5 out of 5 stars

My lab mix got a spot on her shoulder, and one under her leg. We took her to the vet, they did a mite scrape but it came back negative. A week later, and the spots have gotten worse with new ones starting to appear. We tried the apple cider vinegar remedy at first, but it wasn't appearing to do anything. Then we tried Ted's cure and her hair started growing back! This mix really is working. Her hair is mostly/all grown back after about 6 weeks!


Posted by Pam (Texas) on 07/30/2017
5 out of 5 stars

I used this on our Min Schnauzer mix. He had lost his hair in places, had a horrible yeast smell and ear irritation. The vet said he was allergic to Chicken and prescribed expensive medicines. We have tried dog food without chicken, tried Coconut oil, and everything we could think of. NOTHING HELPED until I tried your remedy.

We followed the directions to a T. Bathed him twice a week for the first 2 weeks and noticed a difference after the 2nd bath. He actually felt better. He still itched and had red spots but we saw improvement. After about 3 weeks I noticed his hair was growing back on his chest.

We continued through the 8 weeks. He looks great. His coat is thick and shinny and he feels great. He's more active and doesn't have that horrible yeast smell any longer.


Posted by Sal (Houston, Tx) on 07/17/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Unbelievable! After first bath, my pit with quite horrible mange stopped itching! He layed belly up on couch for hours finally at peace. He is 99% cured. His hair returned to a full dark grey after only having a streak following his spine down his tail. At this point his hair was falling and 90% turned an ashy grey. Bumps, scabs and a little blood overcame his entire body. His eyes were bloodshot and quite lethargic.

Timeline

Day 1-bathed with dawn, rinsed and applied solution w/o drying. Note: I aggressively lathered him up with my fingernails, I mean agressively, and removed all scabs in the process from over his body.

After rinsing him off, I doused him with the solution and worked it in with fingernails.

Day 2 and 3 was only the dousing with solution, took day 4 off and did day 5 by repeating the actions aforementioned in day 1.

He is currently on day three of fish oil supplement morsels snacks and his hair is unbelievably rich and beautiful. I'm taken aback by how instantly this borax solution worked and the hundreds of $$$ it saved me ...oh, and his wet dog stench ceased immediately after first drench!

A million thanks for this remedy!


Posted by Jeff (Spokane Wa) on 07/14/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Borax for Mange

For all those still struggling with Demodex Mange........................

Wanted to quickly share my experience in the hope that you all don't give up. I have a Boston Terrier whose Puppy Mange got out of control around 14 weeks of age. I tried everything! From Borax to "Happy Dog Naturals" to a few holistic/natural shampoos found on the Internet. Also Coconut Oil and Neem Oil.

Whatever I tried, the Mange seemed to persist. Well...............he just turned ONE and the weirdest thing, it has all but gone away. But I know for sure the Borax formula works. At one point I was so frustrated and felt so bad for seemingly torturing my puppy with daily rub downs and several 'dips' per week; so I just stopped altogether. At that time, he went from say 50% hair loss to 90% hair loss! So for sure the products work to somewhat keep the Mange outbreak at bay.

So if any of you are frustrated and worried............take heart. I had heard from several sources -- including Dr. Pitcairn -- that Mange seemed to go away around the year ONE. Well.....................weird, but this was our case too.

Be patient, be persistent and most of all, PLEASE AVOID CHEMICALS! It will get better. Cheers!


Posted by Gaby R.r. (Vancouver) on 07/12/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Hi, I've been using this borax and peroxide treatment in my 2 year old dog for 6 weeks. Bathing her 2 times a week..I must say it is working well, she has improved a.great deal. My dog has demodectic mange and after been misdiagnosed her conditioned got worse. I found this cure and she is getting better, but I have a few questions about it.

The first time I bathe her with the solution she got all red and her skin turned like paper, the next day the redness dissapear and got better with the second bath 2 days later, after the 5th bath she got worse again (I understand that was the dye off effect, when the mites die and release toxins that cause a huge allergic reaction) but got better by the next 3 days. Well now I have bathe her 14 times, and she was bettr after each bath, hair began to grow again in the bald patches she had, she was scratching less and the redness dissapear. I read that once hair begins to grow the baths can be reduced to once a week for 4 to 6.weeks in order to kill remaining larvae. So I did that.

But last sunday was her 2nd weekly bath and again she turned red and itchy, not all her body like the first times, but her belly, chest, rear legs and knees. Those parts were the most damaged by the scratching and were completely bald, and turned black and thick when she was at her worst. In these weeks hair began to grow, the skin softened and the black spots were fading, but in the last 2 days after the last weekley bath she began scratching again, it turned red and she pulled out some of the new hair because of the itching, also some of the hair in her chest. Is it possible that is another "dye off" after he 14th bath? has someone experienced the same at an advance stage of the treatment? Please if someone can help me.

Aditionally to the baths I have improved her diet, switch to barf, I give her kefir, vitamin c, spirulina, omega 3 supplement to improve.her immmune system. Hope someone can help me.understand what is happening.

Thank you


Posted by Robin (Florida) on 07/06/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you to those who have posted on here.

I have a 16 year old Jack Russell who was shedding, scratching, and biting constantly. She had several hot spots on each leg and what looked like bites between her toes, a raw looking nose where she'd rubbed it bare, and was always extremely tired. Plus non stop shedding. The one vet said the nose was due to allergies to pollen. And then said she was also allergic to fleas even when it was hard to find any on her. To be honest she looked every one of her 16 years.

Anyway, I have tried a whole bunch of vet products and nothing helped as much or quickly as Ted's mange treatment. I've done the treatment three times over this past week and there's a major improvement! She is not waking up constantly to scratch and her energy is back. She's running again, and even sitting up and wanting to look out the car windows. She is still scratching but not so aggressively and much less often. And with her not biting the sores on her legs are healing nicely and should be totally gone in another week or two.

Also, I can see the start of hair growing on her nose, and even inside her ears that I never could get clean are now almost totally a soft pink. And her toes are back to looking normal. I did also treat as much of her living area as I could with borax. Just sprinkled it on dry and left it as long as possible and then vacuum. And wash her bedding every time I treat her.

Thanks again!


Posted by Candy (Ny) on 06/12/2017
5 out of 5 stars

I have a 4 year golden lab that has had mange off and on for about 3 years.I am doing the Hydrogen peroxide, Borax and water mixture.It is working, but I am woundering how long I should be using this, how any times a week I can use it and will it give blood [email protected] to strong? Thank You, Candy


Posted by Daisy (Los Angeles) on 02/12/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Ted's cure for mange. My 11 year old dog improved in just two days of spraying her with the solution three times a day.


Posted by Karen (Wappinger Falls, Ny) on 01/29/2017
5 out of 5 stars

Worked wonders. Wish I tried this 1st, bought the sulfur dip worked somewhat. Best results was from the magic peroxide, borax mix. This will be the only solution I use. Thank you so much for sharing.ūüėä I now have a Happy puppy. She is now able to rest.



NEXT