Ted's Dog Mange Cure - Treatment for Demodectic and Sarcoptic Mange

Borax and Peroxide User Reviews  

5 star (190) 
  82%
4 star (12) 
  5%
3 star (10) 
  4%
1 star (16) 
  7%
(4) 
  2%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Debbie (Va Beach, Va) on 09/17/2017
4 out of 5 stars

Ted's remedy helped my lab/border collie mix so much. She had yeast mange and hair loss. Her skin was flakey she smelled awful and scratched all the time. Her tail had thick black skin and hair was mostly gone. I wanted to avoid taking her to the vet because I know it sometimes is not the best way to go. I wanted natural. Teds' remedy worked every time but just didn't last. The last time she needed to go to the vet for vaccinations I asked them to do a thyroid test on her for hypothyroidism because she had all the symptoms. And that is what she had. She is on medicine and has healthy skin her hair grew back and she doesn't smell. Just wanted to share because I am so relieved that we have an answer and she is doing great! And it may help someone else that has a dog that is struggling with hypothyroidism.


Posted by Jessbcause (Seattle, Washington) on 11/11/2015
4 out of 5 stars

Hello, we have been doing the Borax solution for a few weeks. The thing is, he has it BAD, and had it his whole life, he is 11 now. He suddenly got worse then normal a couple of years ago and lost almost all of his fur. He gets these bubbly scabs all over and now his head and ears. The solution baths have worked great on his itching (very little), and his ears are starting to heal... But no hair is growing back. He has actually been losing hair, and still has open wounds/scabs all over his body...

I am just worried, should we put him back on his antibiotics while we give him Ted's Mange Solution? He sleeps a lot and is losing the the little hair he had left. The only thing is, his itching has gotten less and his ears are starting to look better. He has scabs that open and bleed every day, his neck, his back. His paws he over licks all the time... I know I heard he is supposed to look worse before better... But it has been about a month from doing this, and no hair growth, and still open scabs that bleed. The Antibiotics used to keep him from bleeding some.... Please some advice? Thank you!

We also give him 2 fish oil tablets a day and tablespoons of Coconut oil to eat and some on his skin. This is all to help boost his immune system and sometimes these vitamin chews.


Posted by Lavan (Houston, TX) on 03/16/2015
4 out of 5 stars

Hi, Till now I have tried this borax treatment twice with 3 days interval and I see some improvement in my dog. However my dog's itching and biting at his paws and thighs doesn't seem to have stopped (also the red spots on his skin). If anybody could answer my questions as below:

1. What is the duration of the applications I should follow (confused by multiple users having it differently)

2. What can I do additionally to relieve my dog of his skin itchiness while continuing with the borax treatment. Maybe the skin spots are forming by his biting his skin.

Thanks everyone for sharing this treatment info. Like other users I have had to take my dog (1 yr old Pitbull mix) to the vet multiple times for demodectic mange and have tried ivermectin, lime sulphur dips, mitaban dips (mitaban has been effective but seems to come back after 2 weeks) but everything has been a temporary relief for him till now (since the last 8 months). I have also put him on grain free diet just to rule out any allergies.


Posted by Roze (Tulsa, Ok) on 02/11/2015
4 out of 5 stars

I have been using Ted's Mange Treatment and I have seen great improvement on several occasions. I have even thought I have had a cure. My poor fur baby is an older dog and it seems to always come back. She does not seem to be in any discomfort, no Pain or Itching. Just bumps and spots of hair loss.

This last time when the bumps returned she had been in fabulous shape for about a month. I was so happy.

I got up one morning and all was fine and that night I could see bumps and lots of them. I thought about all the natural treatments out there and came up with a plan.

I got up the next morning and began the routine that I have been following now for a week and a half.

I bath her with Benzoyl Peroxide on Saturday and after lathering her up I leave it sit on her for 5 minutes. It is pretty strong and drying so, then the next day is an off day. Monday I give her ACV rinse and thoroughly soak her and not use a towel to dry her. Tuesday is the Peroxide/Borax day. Wednesday is an off day. Thursday and Friday she gets ACV soak down.

I have seen this most recent round on her break down and such a vast improvement over prior episodes and this time there is speed to visible improvement. I will continue with this schedule until all is cleared up and then for 30-45 days after I see complete healing.


Posted by Kcat (Greensboro, Nc) on 07/08/2013
4 out of 5 stars

Per Ted's mange remedy, which is excellent for cat mites by the way, what amount of borax is safe to mix in my cats' food for internal pest control? Ted mentioned giving his dog 1/8 th of a tsp. in?a litre of water. Cats do not drink much water relative to dogs so any suggestions re: adding to food? The baths are working great but we are still not eliminating the black specks--not flea dirt or dirt--entirely. Thank you.


Posted by Diamond (Salisbury, Usa) on 07/23/2011
4 out of 5 stars

I have once again found more mites (mange) on my kitten; it has been eight months since I last treated her for mange, but I did two of the borax and peroxide treatments twice in between the 8 months of the treatment. It was tolerated good but the tail was so impossible to do. She is some fighter as in meaning she has the will to live & fight for her freedom, also she fears for her life which is also understandable. I cleaned the whole house from top to bottom, cleaned my husband with same solutions as I did for cat/dogs and my self, I tried to keep right on up there in the cleaning and laundry etc. I put all bed items in bags to suffocate any living eggs or mites for days then washed in hot water/borax and amonia ;I recently read that these mites can hold their breath while under water or other solutions, so its even a greater task of holding my kitten in water(head above water)for X amount of time while cleaning her up. I recently tried Rid for head lice on her tail/these mites were embedded there forever, as she was a stray when I found her. The Rid has four items to work with; lice killing shampoo/lice & egg comb out gel/home lice, bed bug, dust mite spray and a fine tooth metal comb. I did her tail with excellent results, but I feel there are still a few eggs there. More on her results later. Thank you every one for this most need help I have gotten. And most of all this site wouldn't be possible it it wasn't for Ted. Thank You Ted.


Posted by Nyckl64 (Jasper, Tx) on 12/26/2010
4 out of 5 stars

I have a 9 yo Belgian Malanois a 5 yo Pitt a 2 yo *kamut* a 1 1/2 yo Pitt and a 2 yo chiapin... The Malanois, 5 yo Pitt n kamut all have what I believe to be the mange.. And wouldn't you know it, our vet we always used died 3 weeks ago.. Breaks my heart, he seems to be the only vet here that's not just in it for the money, as he never charged for office visits, just for what he did or needed to be done... He will be missed.

So today we started the regimen of Teds remedy, within the time of them being bathed and soaked with the *JUICE*... Lol.. All were laying and sleeping and not one scratching, so it evedently helps with the itch, thank you Lord... I know they r misserable, so I will be doing this regularly and I will let you know the results, but for some reason, I have faith in this... *all my girls r fixed, both pitts n kamut, I truly believe in being responsible, I will keep believing this Until They All Have A Home, don't breed, rescue!!! ... East Texas thanks, Penny//aka//Nana//Nyckl


Posted by Smokeysmommy (Woodland, Wa, Us) on 02/25/2010
4 out of 5 stars

Hello,

I have been trying Ted's remedies for mange on my dog for the past 2 weeks. He had scabs and bloody raw spots on this back. He is sooooo much better now. No raw spots! I am seeing improvement but still feel I have a ways to go. I kept thinking he had a flea allergy or food allergy. Does the black skin go away? I still see him shedding skin and bathe him every 3-4 days with a tea tree oil shampoo and then apply the borax peroxide remedy. Way less itching! He was hiding under the house and itching madly so I am very thankful for this remedy! Should I continue the baths until all symptoms are gone? (I read somewhere here that you should do 2 mos.max?) Also, how long does it take for heavy skin thickening to go away with this remedy? He has that on his lower back by his tail.

Thanks!


Posted by Kate (Sparta, Missouri, USA) on 12/03/2009
4 out of 5 stars

I rescued a bulldog that has severe demodectic mange and has had it for over a year. I did the Borax treatment and immediately he had relief, no more itching and the redness was gone. I also gave him Flaxseed oil daily. After 4 weeks he developed pustules full of blood on his body and thick creamy stuff in all wrinkles and toes, I am assuming pyrogerma and yeast? So I discontinued the Borax treatment and started the Borax/Baking Soda yeast treatment. The yeast and pyroderma is gone now but the mange is back, his skin is red and hot again. I have started the Borax mange treatment again and am seeing great results but I am afraid he will get the pyroderma and yeast again if I treat too often so I am only treating once a week but I am also afraid this will not be often enough to cure the mange. I have also put him on a completely raw diet. I don't know if I did the mange treatment too often and irritated the skin or what is going on. Does anybody have any advice on a specific regimine I can use to deal with all these issues? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Feel free to directly email me at [email protected]
Kate


Posted by Ella (Madison, Wisconsin) on 07/22/2009
4 out of 5 stars

My dog is a chowchow/golden retriever mix and has had mange since october 2008. His age is about 7 years old. We found this site in January 2009 we started the peroxide and borox treatment once a week for only one month and he started to grow his fur back on his belly and back. But now he has severe dandruff and is acting differently. He doesn't seem interested in anything anymore. All he wan't to do is sleep and does not want to play or walk. Is this a common side affect after mange? About one week ago like on july 15 or 16, his fur started to come our quite a bit. We don't know if the mange has returned or not. How do we get him playful and excited like he used to be? Please help because I feel so sorry for him.


Posted by Peggy (Delbarton, WV/USA) on 02/02/2009
4 out of 5 stars

I've been using Ted's solution mix for a month now. I am now putting an equate brand name for acne treatment. This contains 10% benzoyl peroxide on the mange pimples. When I first started the treatment he was covered in the mange pimples. He's down to just several now. I give him a good rub down to feel for them. I also pay attention to where he scratches, which isn't often. Using a used peroxide bottle I made a solution to use on him in between baths. This has helped a lot. I HAVE A QUESTION ABOUT THIS. HOW LONG DOES THE SOLUTION RETAIN IT'S HELPING PROPERTIES ONCE IT'S BEEN MIXED? I am wondering if I should change it after a few days or is it good till it's gone?

Something else I saw on here was to mix baby oil, blue Listerine and water 1/3 parts each. I have used this especially when coming inside from outdoors. It really makes the fur soft and helps him smell a lot better. Everything I'm doing I learned from this site. I've even posted it on my dogster and doggyspace pages. I'm not mistaken, this should continue even after control of the mange just as you would any typical grooming care of your dog. I do appreciate any response concerning my question.


Posted by Linda Coring (Welland, Ontario) on 08/28/2008
4 out of 5 stars

I have a purebred pug 2 years old who has had Demodex for 18 months many Vet appointments which he was given Ivermectin antibiotics and spot on treatments,dips as well, nothing worked and he continued to get worse his feet are swollen and bleeding, I was desperate to find a cure,when I found Ted's remedy for Demodex mange, I followed the instructions for mixing 1000ml 3%peroxide 2000ml water and 3 tabsp. Borax, I keep rinsing him with it for 15 min and let him drip dry, the first bath I could not believe how much dander?(eggs/mites? he shed I was sweeping it up, I washed all the floors and bedding with Borax too, it has been a week now and 2 baths with Borax, he is looking so much better I'm so pleased and hopeful he is still not well only eats and sleeps goes out to do his business 2x a day, he is a pitifull site I pray this will work as I can not continue much longer to watch him suffer, I feel if I could get him well enough to get him nutered this would help I have taken pictures of him as I hope to have before and after of his cure from the nightmare of Demodex. I remain extremely hopeful and I will continue to use this remedy and let you know how it goes.
Linda