Ted's Dog Mange Cure - Treatment for Demodectic and Sarcoptic Mange

Borax and Peroxide User Reviews  

5 star (190) 
  82%
4 star (12) 
  5%
3 star (10) 
  4%
1 star (16) 
  7%
(4) 
  2%
Share your thoughts with our readers
Write a review


Posted by Louise (Canada) on 05/05/2016
3 out of 5 stars

Worked Temporarily

I am trying the Borax/Peroxide solution and it seemed to be helping but the last couple of days there has been a lot of itching again. I did the treatment 3X the first week then have been doing it once a week since, for a total of 6 treatments.

My dog did throw up the first time as she licked off some of the solution, so I put a cone on her after that, treated the entire body then when she was dry and I could take the cone off, sprayed the head and ears a couple of hours later. Maybe this is where I went wrong? I am also having trouble getting the head wet enough without getting it in the eyes or near the mouth (which might cause vomiting again).

Anyway, need some help, the first 5 treatments seemed to show improvement but the last one just seemed to cause more itching.

She is mostly scratching at her ears and the insides of her legs and armpit area. She did have red bumps at one point and I did treat with a topical pesticide at that time and the bumps did not come back but the itching returned so I then decided to try the Borax/Peroxide solution rather than give a pesticide again.

Any suggestions?

THANKS!


Posted by Penelope (Gun Barrel City,Texas) on 05/13/2015
3 out of 5 stars

Better But With Side Effects

I started treating my 6 year old German Shepherd Dog with Ted's wonderful mange cure two weeks ago. He has had six treatments in total. Immediately after the first treatment I could tell he felt so much better. He ran around the yard chasing his kitties up trees and barking like a young puppy again. Despite his improved attitude he is still going quite bald on his rump and the end of his tail looks as if it belongs on a rat not my baby!!!

He has pretty bad thickening of his skin on his elbows and at the base of his tail. After reading reviews regarding this treatment plan I know already that I'm in for the long haul and will do whatever it takes to get him through this. He is and has been my constant companion and friend for these six years and deserves to be treated as the King he is. So I would like first to tell you how extremely grateful I am for this website and all the love and attention I know you have put into it.

I have a question regarding the flaking he has developed now. On the second morning after the first treatment I was greeted by a dog that was sporting what turned out to be cartoon sized snowflakes of dry skin all over his back and rump area. I was able to remove them with much brushing and no complaints on Kings part. I was wondering if this was normal and will it continue for the duration of his treatment?

My other question is in regard to the thickened skin patches he has developed. Will these go away over time and what should I use to speed their disappearance?

Thank you again for all the knowledge you have shared with us here. You have saved King's life and me a lifetime of feeling guilty. I was losing all hope for finding a cure for him since I had tried everything that I could find and nothing but nothing had even acted like it was going to help. Your website was deemed to be my last search. I had made him suffer for so long and couldn't stand the thought of him being miserable any longer due to my inability to cure him and I have no money for the vet. So I had to find someway to get him help that I could afford. You really deserve so much more than a simple thank you. You saved my best friends life. If ever in anyway I can be of assistance to you please don't hesitate to ask. I am forever in debt to you.


Posted by Om (Hope, Bc Canada) on 02/11/2015
3 out of 5 stars

Worked Temporarily

Hello Keith

If me, and I have used it with success is

1 Ted's Mange Treatment

2 Ted's anti staph solution for spraying

3 ACV on wash cloth improving the ph

4 The best : UT = your own best body blue print medicine.

5 Last NOT least, Turmeric. Dry powder

Turmeric is a natural anti biotic, excellent for skin and new blood which has largely healed my big dog's entire back which was bloody and infected. My belief is that allopathic antibiotics become precurser for candida and then cancer

My big dog had red mange and I used an essential orange oil household cleaner, spraying. It worked super well. Also, it kills fleas and keeps the skin soft.

ACV as a spray kills fleas well and you can soon see them dead all over which I did not suspect at first. But one needs to spray this at least twice a day, not so with TIKO orange spray which I think is the best but I like to use a multi pronged approach. And ACV is important as it changes the skin ph. You dilute ACV as the dog can handle.

The very best is which people shun but believe me, it is a divine remedy which is God's gift, used all over the world. On him I have used mine and he liked that. But I want to find a long handled 2nd hand pot to take his which is best. But both work. Fresh urine is sterile and does not have an odour. It heals every thing and you can research that.

I still have mites. The last lot from a garment at a big store in Canada. I have soaked a soft terry cloth and used fresh "Manava Mutra" for a month and keep at it as there is far less problem. Also :Shivambhu" as it is called in India, is the answer to all human and animal troubles, cleaning the aura which holds the roots of diseases physically and mentally. Moreover the skin will glow and be beautiful.

Anyway, this is my way and I wish you both all the best success. Namaste Om


Posted by Middlebunny (Jersey City, New Jersey, Usa) on 09/05/2011
3 out of 5 stars

Better But With Side Effects

I'm curious. My black cocker spaniel periodically breaks out in a rash. We thought it was an allergic reaction to the dog park but after reading these posts it seems like it might be mange or mites. His latest bout appears to be his worst so far. His vet previously rx'd a topical cleanser as well as Gentamicin Sulfacte Topical Spray. This seems to work; however, I decided that it might be more efficient to try Ted's mange cure to see if that helped.

I didn't bath the dog in Ted's solution as he'd just gotten his hair done at the salon (who called and notified us of the rashes on his stomach which they thought were indicative of an allergy or staph infection). Instead, I mixed 150ml of 3% Hydrogen Peroxide solution with 300ml of distilled water then I mixed in 1 tablespoon of the borax (laundry cleaner). I put this all in a 500ml bottle and shook it until the borax had either mixed in or formed a solid mass that settled at the bottom of the bottle (I assumed the settlement was the portion that couldn't be dissolved). I then put the liquid in a spray bottle and sprayed the areas of his tummy which had the rash. I also sprayed some on his back and tried to push it through his hair without messing up his cute cocker spaniel hair cut. While the instructions recommend bathing in the solution once a week, I've sprayed the tummy area several times since the initial application as I thought that would be close to simulating a full body bath for the effected body parts. I've now begun to notice that my dog's black hair has been lightened as though the 1% hydrogen peroxide is having a bleaching effect. Is this typical? Is it because I've sprayed the solution on my dog more than once?

Although the rashes appear to be drying out, I don't want to keep spraying my dog with the solution because of the hair lightening effect. Despite this, I do still want to continue to promote the healing process. In between weekly applications of the borax/h2o2 solution, can I resume using the Gentamicin Sulfate spray or will this decrease the effectiveness of the borax/h2o/h2o2 solution? Please advise.


Posted by Happieme (Makati, Philippines) on 02/25/2011
3 out of 5 stars

Better But With Side Effects

I tried Ted's remedies on my black labrador. I can see improvement on his skin, however I noticed that his fur faded and is now a bit chocolate brown :(


Posted by Anne (Paranaqu, Luzon) on 03/20/2010
3 out of 5 stars

Better But With Side Effects

Hello. I have been treating my dog with this borax peroxide solution for three weeks. i have seen a huge improvement. She does not wake up to scartch and she sleeps soundly already. The thing I want to know is, due to the mange, she developed the black skin.. black spots on her body and its getting lighter.. good thing. :-) My dog sleeps on my bed and she keeps on shedding black dandruff like particles. Is that the black skin peeling off her body? everytime she shakes her body, you can actually see the black particles come off. eveytime she walks or move.. the dandruff falls off. Is that the black skin getting better and going back to regular skin? has anyone experienced this? Hope to hear from anyone... thank you


Posted by Judy (Roby, Texas) on 07/02/2009
3 out of 5 stars

Worked Temporarily

How long does Mange live in the yard?

I have been using the Hydrogen Peroxide/Borax cure for a month now. My dog initially began to improve. But it is beginning to seem like a losing battle. He looks almost as bad as he did before. I sprayed the whole yard with the solution, especially his sleeping places. He must be getting reinfected from the yard. Will Malathion 55% applied at 1 or 2 tsp. per gallon sprayed in the yard, be able to kill the mites? I know I should keep my dog out of the yard for at least 3 days after spraying. He originally got the mites when we put him in the yard. My neighbor informed me that the people who lived here before us had 2 dogs who died from Mange. I am assuming it is in the dirt. We cut down the weeds, but my dog actually got worse after cutting them down. How long do these mites live in the dirt? How can I kill them? Do the mites live longer in dry dirt rather than wet (or grass)? I can't bring the dog into the house, my landlord insisted that the dog not be allowed inside the house. I am wishing I could give my dog away - to save his life.


Posted by Leah (Surrey, British Columbia, Canada) on 04/06/2009
3 out of 5 stars

Better But With Side Effects

I have a 10 month shar pei, named penny and I just started using ted's solution. Shar pei's are known to have skin problems, and I was wondering what you can use in conjunction with ted's solution to sooth her skin so she won't be so itchy? I think the solution is working, but I can tell that from the treatment, her skin is completely dried out. Any suggestions?

Thanks
Leah


Posted by Caren (Wilmington, DE) on 09/03/2008
3 out of 5 stars

Worked Temporarily

I wrote in months ago about the great results we had using borax perox baths. A few months after using the baths, I noticed Rockys condition getting bad again. I continued bathing him every 3 days in the bath, Vit E oil orally and topically. Pinch of borax in his wather... Diluted Tea tree oil on mange 'pimples'...I have been diligently keeping up with Rocky. Sometimes he looked like he was growing hair like crazy.. and next thing he looked like he was losing it again... I have been frustrated, but tried not to give up hope....in the end, I am sad to report, that this morning, after dropping him off to have him neutered, I recieved a phone call a little later in the day. The mange was getting worse and I was informed that I could possibly have abuse/neglect charges brought against me for not treating his mange medically. I had to leave my work because I almost got sick all over. Never in a million years would I expect to hear these words directed towards me. I love this dog and am sick to my stomach. I followed the instructions completely and carefully and religiously. I am now forced to go back to mitaban and start him on ivermectin. I have purchased antifungal shampoo to help heal the "secondary skin infection" that Rocky has now developed and have him on antibiotics, and heart worm med (starting in a few weeks) The doc actually told me that it was close to turning into "Red Mange". I was so hopeful. Now I am just scared. This poor dog has been suffering and I am beyond feeling guilty... I can't bathe him for 7 days but am feeling desperate to start him on the chemicals that I was so against. I cannot let this dog get any worse and risk his life....

Any suggestions or advice Ted?
Sincerly Caren


Posted by Senna (Orange County, USA) on 01/30/2008
3 out of 5 stars

Worked Temporarily

I tried Ted's Mange remedy for my 8 yr old maltese who's been suffering for 7 years of her life. We've tried everything from oral medication, injections and mitaban dips. Nothing seemed to work long term. I came upon this site and tried Ted's remedy out of desperation. For the first few weeks it worked like magic. She was a completely different dog. However, after 1 month she's relapsed and the remedy is no longer giving her relief. I did try it on my other dog (another maltese) as a preventative measure and it seems to be working on him; so far no mange on him and they sleep together. It may be that on my 8 yr old, her immune system is just too weak. I do recommend people try this remedy before they try the dips as they are very toxic. Thanks Ted!!