Jean's Famous Tomato Tea Remedy for Sinus Infections and Congestion

Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Fred (Wyomissing, Pa ) on 10/25/2011
5 out of 5 stars

This was the first I heard of this home remedy. Not only did it work, but also it would make a great bloody Mary mix.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Teddy (Springfield, Missouri) on 10/23/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I have been sick 5 days now: chest congestion and nose clogged with mucus. Little scary with lungs and nose getting clogged and hard to breath. Had good luck with Ginger root and ACV with lemon and honey in green tea. Was not getting enough mucus up to make a differance. The ACV & Ginger did help my inflamation.

Today I found the remedy for Tomato Tea. I cannot eat large amounts of red pepper but I was willing to try. I made 1 coffee mug full and when I heat it up to keep it hot. I set the mug into a pan of water to let it get hot. And take in the steam from the water and the tea at the same times into my nose and lungs being careful not to get burned. Mucus has broken up in my nose and I was able to clear some pretty yucky stuff. And my congestion in my chest was able to begin breaking up more productive. Even if my nose clogs again I at lest know what just blew out would not have come up on it's own.

Thanks so much for keeping feedback alive. I feel like I can eat something for supper now. And I have not been able to eat more than light soup all day. I will plan to sip some more of this Tomato tea after supper.

With luck my congestion and clogged nose will stay clear.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Jessica (Somewhere, Nv - Nevada ) on 10/21/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I had a sinus headache and a lot of pressure; I could breathe just in a lot of pain. I cannot take antihistamines or Sudafed so I looked up "holistic sinus relief" and it led me here. I did not have tomato juice so I used tomato sauce with water, and I didn't have Tabasco so I used crushed red pepper and paprika. I felt better within 30 minutes.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Rainbowearthmama (Longview, Washington, United States ) on 10/13/2011
5 out of 5 stars

My partner tried this and he LOVES it! It helps clear out congestion and it tastes fabulous! He used a low sodium V8 drink with all of the other ingredients. Well done! Thanks for posting. :)


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Jack (Minneapolis, Mn ) on 10/08/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I came home from work early today due to a bad cold. The sinus pressure, congestion and constant drip made me miserable as can be. I found this site while searching for home remedies and tried this recipe for Tomato Tea immediately. I kid you not, after a few sips the congestion is gone and the pressure is much less! I still have half of the tea to drink and am thoroughly enjoying it! For hot sauce, I used Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce and just used a big clove of garlic that I ran through a garlic press. The celery salt is a great touch. My gratitude to Jean!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Sunshine (Ocean Beach, Ca 92107 Usa) on 10/04/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Wow! My somewhat reluctant to herbal remedies beau agreed to try this remedy for a recent major episode of his ongoing sinus congestion. He wants to drink more later. Score one more for the herbal wisdom of the ages! Namaste


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Texasred (The Colony, Texas) on 10/02/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I had my first cup of this about 40 minutes ago. I felt better right away just from drinking something hot, then about 30 minutes later my sinus started draining like crazy and a lot of the pressure is gone. I'm definitely going to keep drinking this tea. Thank you Jean!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Lildsmom (Tampa, Fl ) on 09/29/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Wow, I just tried this because both sides of my nostrils were completely clogged. I actually used progressive tomato soup as the base. It worked immediately. I have ridiculous allergies sometimes and the only medicine that works is claritin d but it makes me crazy sleepy. This worked even quicker without the sleepy side effect.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Angela (Warwick, Ny ) on 09/16/2011
5 out of 5 stars

After being out of work for a week with intense congestion and sinus pressure, this seems to be helping. Doc had me on Augmentin for sinus infection - taking it for 4 days now with no relief. After some people suggested it could be allergies, I looked around and found this. I don't have the lemon or garlic. It's V-8 and Tabasco sauce, heated, and in 10 minutes I've been more clear than in the last 3 days! Thank you! (PS-how long does the clearing last for??)


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Susie (Houston, Texas) on 09/04/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I am 27 weeks pregnant and I've had a cold for over a week. I have also been extremely congested. And I've had some horrible sinus headaches for the first time. I've taken everything over the counter that a pregnant woman can take with no relief. I made the tea 15minutes ago and I feel like someone took a vacuum cleaner and drained out my sinuses. Problem was I dislike garlic and it causes me acid reflux so towards the end of the drink I swallowed a big chunk of chopped garlic and almost threw up. I ran to drink water and chew a tums to hold down the tea and quit burping. I was successful and it looks like I might be able to sleep tonight :)!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Susan (Phoenix, Az) on 08/29/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Once again this site has saved me! Apple cider vinegar got rid of my hot flashes 3 years ago and now this recipe has allowed me to breathe again! I work with kids and every year when school starts they give me some kind of cold.

I used: V8, garlic, lemon juice & cayenne. Worked in about 20 minutes!

JeannieW...thank you so much for sharing! EarthClinic... Thank you so much for existing! :-D


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Edward (Smithville, Mo, Usa) on 08/14/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I had been dealing with sinus problems for around 6 or 7 weeks. I had a tooth pulled and it upset my sinuses. It pretty much ruined my Summer as I was always miserable due to the sinus pressure and other side effects (I started thinking every little ache and pain was a new part of the sinus pressure and that I had something very serious). I had gone to the doctor twice for it, the first time I was prescribed Augmentin and a refill of it. I took it and was almost feeling better but hadn't gotten completely better. He then changed his diagnosis to "allergies", though didn't check what I was allergic to nor referred me to an allergist. Honestly, I'm still unsure if it is or isn't allergies. I took the allergy medicine for a few days but it didn't do much good in making the symptoms go away or preventing them from getting worse.

I hit a point where I was getting flat out miserable. I started losing a lot of sleep (probably had about 9 or 10 nights where I didn't sleep more than a couple of hours). It hit the point I even discussed it with my parents and had a nervous breakdown. I thought it would go away after a few days, but at this point it had lasted from the end of June right up to the beginning of school (which starts tomorrow as I type this). It made me so mad that I had wasted the whole Summer feeling this way, and my doctor seemed completely clueless as to what was up. We (me and my parents) decided I needed to cut out the medicine for now to see if my body could kick the disease. As well, we cleaned up my room quite a bit and put the de-humidifier in there to clean the air (we have had mold, but its been there awhile plus nobody else has symptoms from it). I was still having trouble sleeping though due to the symptoms of the sinus pressure in my head. It sucked because all it was was pressure moving between my head and chest. No sore throat, no coughing problems... just pressure, clear mucus, and a stuffy nose.

I hit a point after a couple of nights where I felt I was close to kicking the disease, BUT I had been here before and it would come back with a vengeance. I decided to look online to see if there was anything that could possibly finish the job. I saw the recipe here for the tomato tea and decided it was worth a shot.

Now, let me say that I am no cooking pro and know very little about herbal/natural remedies. I've stuck to my medicines pretty close (as needed, of course), so I had my reservations both in the effectiveness of the "tea" and if I could make it correctly.

I took a large dose of it yesterday and noticed my chest started clearing up as I drank it. But my head didn't feel much better right away, so I thought maybe that was as far as it would go. I drank it earlier in the day so I wouldn't have the "wake up and feel better" thing. I was hoping maybe it would make me feel better by the end of the day.

However, I went to bed still feeling a good amount of pressure in my head, ready to give this a review of "better, but not cured". I went to bed early so I ended up waking up early too. I was amazed that for the first couple of hours, my head felt so much better I honestly thought the pressure was gone. I walked around a bit and found there was a little bit left but it was MUCH more bearable. I even was able to go back to sleep with the pressure in my head (which had been a MAJOR problem during the six weeks). I have had another smaller mug since then and it helped even more since then. I anticipate I ought to be over this soon. Maybe the sinuses will kick up later and maybe I do have allergies, but now I can focus on my senior year of college and be ready to kick this semester's butt with full focus on work and not stressing about sinuses or having trouble sleeping.

I SO wish I had thought of this beforehand. It would have saved me (and my family) a lot of stress, but ya can't cry over spilt milk as they say. Thank you so much.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Fanny (College Park, Md, Usa) on 08/07/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Just gave it to boyfriend 5 minutes ago for sinus congestion, and there is air coming out of his nose!! I didn't have tomato juice at hand, but had a bottle of Bloody Mary mix - just added the garlic, lemon juice and the hot sauce and presto!! Thanks for saving me a trip to the pharmacy.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Happy Breather :d (Portland, Or Usa) on 07/30/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you soooooo much! I wasn't sure about if it was going to work because I was trying to decongest my nasal passage all day long! I couldn't taste anything or breath! So, I decided to try it, nothing to lose. The amazing thing is that my nasal started clearing while I was boiling the ingredients, and now it's super clear just after the first few spoons! YUM!!!! :D


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Vijay (Dalian, Liaoning, China) on 06/22/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Thanks a lot for this recipe. I feel better with my congested nose after drinking a cup of tomato tea. :) amazing. gonna recommend my friends also.



NEXT