Jean's Famous Tomato Tea Remedy for Sinus Infections and Congestion

Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Jane (Yonkers, New York) on 09/13/2012
5 out of 5 stars

Worked for me! I get 2-3 sinus infections per year that usually require antibiotics. This past year I decided to try this instead and after about 3 days of drinking this stuff about 3-4 a day, the mucous thinned and I started blowing like crazy. Now I'm in mexico where sudafed is illegal and my right nostril closed up on me, my throat started to hurt and my head started pounding. I remembered this remedy and got the ingredints. The ingredients I used were V8, cloves of garlic that I make sure to smash with wide part of knife, hot sauce and hot peppers. I also used a little afrin to make breathing more tolerable because I'm on my honeymoon and don't feel like sitting around waiting to be able to breathe. Day 3 and i'm blowing away with much thinned mucous and have only had about 1-2 glasses a day! Finally a cure to my sinus infections!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Julie (Nashville, Tn, Usa) on 06/27/2012 4 posts
5 out of 5 stars

I'm a big fan of Jean's spicy tomato tea, and I just wanted to share this idea. As I like to play around with spices, I recently decided to add some turmeric to this recipe just for the heck of it. Turmeric, among its numerous studied health benefits, has anti-bacterial/anti-fungal properties - which fits the whole purpose of the tomato tea. Taste-wise, I think it works well, too. Blessings!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Leslie (Arlington Heights, Il) on 05/18/2012
5 out of 5 stars

THIS IS GREAT! Everything is opening up! Even my ear canals are opening. Can turn the TV a little lower now.... And not say, "WHAT D'YA SAY DEAR???" Thanks!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Sue (Tauranga, New Zealand) on 05/07/2012
5 out of 5 stars

I started reading this site this afternoon after a month of awful sinus problems, following a nasty cold. I've taken Prednisone, pseudoephadrile (?) and anitbiotics, some days felt better and some days worse. Would think it was getting better and then the next, like today, wake up with the right hand side of my face puffed out and unable to go to work due to the pressure in my head and face.

Well thank you Earth Clinic and all your writers. I went and got some ingredients this afternoon, made tomato tea and the apple cider vinegar mix. The relief was instant!! I was able to de-dust the entire house this evening, vacuum under beds etc etc. I wasnt able to get off the sette this morning. It's 6 hours since I took the first batch of tea and ACV, can just feel the headache coming back, so having more ACV before bed. I am 'looking forward' to trying the oil pulling in the morning and crossing my fingers that the misery may be over soon!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Pecorino (Minneapolis, Mn) on 04/17/2012
5 out of 5 stars

This did work amazingly well for me after the second try. The key to it helping I believe was 1) to add as much hot sauce and garlic that you can tolerate and 2) to drink this as soon as you feel sinus inflammation beginning to develop (as opposed to waiting until symptoms are full-fledged).


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Mmsg (Somewhere, Europe) on 02/13/2012
5 out of 5 stars

Another Yea for tomato tea: I made this up (not at all measuring ingredients) for my daughter last night, and this morning her dry cough has turned productive, thank G-d!! Thank you Jean and EC!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Sarah (Kalamazoo, Michigan) on 02/12/2012
5 out of 5 stars

I've had a sore throat and cough for a week, and 3-4 days ago it turned into a sinus infection. I always feel stomach sick if I take OTC cold medication (Nyquil/Dayquil) so I decided to search for a home remedy. I found the recipe for this tomato soup and decided to try it. Just 5 minutes after starting to drink it, I feel a lot better. My sinuses have already relaxed and can get rid of some of my mucus! My throat feels nice.

I have tried the non-tomato tea recipe before (lemon, ceyenne, etc) with no effect except a burnt throat. I'm very happy to have this recipe!

I made my tomato tea with tomato paste because we don't have juice - I just added 2-3 tsp to a cup of hot water, and added everything else as recommended. It works great, I'll have another cup this afternoon!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Mia (North Central, Indiana Usa) on 02/12/2012
5 out of 5 stars

Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU! This worked so very well!

I've been suffering from an influenza like illness for a few days here and was desperate for some congestion relief. I also wanted to use my neti pot, but that requires being able to breathe somewhat through both nares.

I decided to try this Tomato Tea and wow, it's awesome! Within a few sips I could breathe. Not only did it help my congestion, but I had also lost my voice completely and after about a cup of this mix my voice is improving. Still far from stellar, but I can talk better now too.

Thank you so much for this. I am a nurse and will be recommending this to people. There's good science behind why this works.

And it honestly doesn't taste half bad!

(I did use a little worstershire sauce as well as some seasoning salt with the V8, lemon juice, 4 cloves of garlic & as much hot sauce as I could stand.)


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Julie (Nashville, Tn, Usa) on 02/05/2012 4 posts
5 out of 5 stars

Recently, I came down with a bad cold and very sore throat that I think was brought on by stress - I literally "worried myself sick". I woke up with it on a Wednesday before I was to start a new job the following Monday. This was bad news - I rarely get sick, but when I do get a cold, it's usually miserable and protracted. I turned to Jean's spicy tomato tea, drinking approximately a large coffee-mug-full two to three times a day. (One caveat: I like very spicy foods, and I use a lot more garlic and hot sauce than the recipe calls for! ) I started feeling better right away; my symptoms turned out to be not nearly as miserable as they usually are when I've had a cold; and best of all, by Monday morning I was about 98% recovered and feeling ready to tackle my first day of my new job. It cut my recovery time in half and really eased the symptoms. And this was a month ago and I did not have a relapse - this tea killed the cold virus! :)

I especially appreciate this remedy because I have a highly reactive immune system and have had allergic reactions to at least a couple of OTC cold medications - the upshot of which is that, rather than risk an adverse reaction, I don't take anything other than pain reliever when I'm sick, and just rely on the old methods of rest, lots of fluids, etc. - and spicy tomato tea! My heartfelt thanks for Jean for coming up with this comforting, nutritious and healing concoction.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Leslie (South Portland, Me) on 01/15/2012
5 out of 5 stars

Tomato Tea worked wonderfully for my husband's sinus congestion. He had sinus pain and pressure for about a week before we tried this. He did not believe it would work. It tastes good too! Thank you!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Mohini (Phnom Penh, Cambodia) on 01/05/2012
5 out of 5 stars

I was talking to my daughter and she complained of severe congestion, blocked nose, headache. I searched earth clinic and came across the tomato tea. I gave her the exact measurements and asked her to drink before going off to sleep. She did that and viola, the next day she mailed saying that the sinuses have all cleared! This really works. I have asked her to continue for a few nights more. Its a healthy soup as well!!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Valerie (Kenosha, Wi) on 12/14/2011
5 out of 5 stars

This tea works GREAT! I added a whole habanero and let it simmer with the tea for 5-10min on top of a boat load of ground cayenne pepper.


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Kimberly (Fl, Usa) on 12/13/2011
5 out of 5 stars

Just made the tomato tea for my husband. His sinuses were so congested. He had used the saline rinse for 2 days. Within 5 minutes he had relief and is now fast asleep and snoring! What a wonderful sound. Thank you for the wonderful website. I come here often to look up things. I find natural remedies work so much better with our bodies. Thank you to all who offer advice. Thanks Jean for the tomato tea recipe. No trip to the Dr., no prescription, and all better!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Doug (Calgary, Alberta) on 11/13/2011
5 out of 5 stars

I am 56 and have had 3 months of night time congestion where I wake up several times a night trying to breathe. Otc nasal spray worked great but had to quit that stuff after 3 days (read that it could cause long term problems). Have been doing the neti pot thing every day for a couple of weeks now but with not much night time relief. Found Jean's recipe yesterday and juiced a couple cups worth of home grown tomato juice, 4 garlic cloves, and 1 large whole lemon - added approx. 2 tbl spoons of cayenne hot sauce and 2 cups extra spicy clamato for flavour. Had a hot cup midday and another a couple hours before bed and finally slept good with no congestion all night. I will be drinking tons of this stuff for awhile. Thank you Jean!


Tomato Tea User Reviews
Posted by Jorana83 (Nashville, Tn, United States ) on 11/07/2011
5 out of 5 stars

What a Godsend! This tomato tea (made with mostly organic ingredients) cleared my cold out in a record 2 days! The only side effect? It makes me sweat. I would assume it's the hot sauce and the heat of the "soup" but I take it as a good sign. I assume my body is sweating out toxins which should continue to help! Thanks so much!



NEXT